Still confused!

Old Jun 13th 2010, 7:22 pm
I've Started Over!

The Waters Family is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Still confused!

Hi boys and girls

I'm still new to all this, so if i sound stupid, my apologies!

I'm still confused about getting me and my family to Canada from the UK.

If i get a jobs with a trucking company in Canada will they get me a TWP or do i?
If i get employment and i get a TWP one way or another how do i get PR?
If i go through a PNP will i get PR from that after a qualifying period?

The basics, I want to emigrate to canada with my family to work hard and have a better quality of life i've been through the CIC website and feel like i'm hitting a brick wall and getting worried that its a no-go.

So if there is anybody out there who has been an HGV driver in England and has emigrated to Canada with their family please please let me know how you did it

Many thanks,
Chris and Janet
Old Jun 13th 2010, 8:35 pm
Forum Regular

alandoug is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Still confused!

Roughly as follows:

Find an employer willing & able to apply for an LMO for you. Have a read through the forum, there are afew.
Once granted the LMO, the way I did it was to present the LMO & signed contract of employment at immigration when you enter Canada (Halifax airport in my case). They will issue you with a 1 or 2 year TWP, you will only be allowed to work for the employer quoted on the permit. If you want to change, you need another LMO applied for by the intended employer, then leave the country (trip to US border suffices) & return to get another TWP issued.