Go Back  British Expats > Working Abroad > Working Abroad by Profession > Trucking
Reload this Page >

Some advice starting from scratch please

Some advice starting from scratch please

Old Jun 15th 2011, 4:02 am
Banned

Batista230 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Some advice starting from scratch please

Hello all
There is a free news paper available in trucks stops in the UK call 'truck stop news'
They have an overseas appointment section for Canada
One company who is advertising in it want 5 1/2 grand to apparently sort all the visas out, teach me about Canadian law, put me through my test and put me into work
Now this seams to me to be silly money and I won’t buy it

I was wondering if there was another way round it
But first off I want to know what the job market is like over there
If its what it is like hear in Europe and all the jobs are a closed shop with 50 people chasing ever job then please tell me right away and I can forget this idea
But if there is a shortage of skilled drivers then Im game on for it
Or is it all messed up what with the recession and everything

I would like a job doing tramping continental type of thing
Where I will be living and sleeping in the cab all the time

I have limited knowledge about all this so please excuse me if any of my points below are incorrect

1. I believe the company sponsor a migrant worker to work for there firm
1 B. Do they sort the visa out or do I have to do it all

2. I believe you have to sit a HGV test in Canada and my UK HGV licnece will not do
2 B. Dose the company sort all this out or dose the company expect me to do the test
2 C. Am I expected to have my Canadian licnece before I arrive
2 D. Is the Canadian driving licecne much easer to pass then the test in the UK

3. Can you please give me some link to transport firms that are looking for migrant workers

4. What is the difference between European trucks and an American truck
I have been told the gear box is completely different