Go Back  British Expats > Working Abroad > Working Abroad by Profession > Trucking
Reload this Page >

Sitting the MELTS test whilst in Canada on an IEC

Sitting the MELTS test whilst in Canada on an IEC

Old May 31st 2023, 8:33 pm
Forum Regular

Fedupscotsman is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Sitting the MELTS test whilst in Canada on an IEC

Hi all,

got aspirations to be a truck driver in Canada. Currently doing my last year of a masters degree to help boost my CRS score and after that I plan to do my class 1 in the UK get 2/3 years experience and try to get a job offer or a provincial nomination after that.

alternatively though, I’ve put my name in the pool for an IEC, my question is, if I was lucky enough to get an IEC, could I pay to sit the MELTS test whilst there on a IEC visa without prior trucking experience?

Just to be clear I’m not being naive thinking it’d be easy or that trucking/HGV driving is easy or to be taken lightly, but with the age I am, I need to be planning ahead if I want to get Canadian PR.

thanks in advance.
Old Jun 9th 2023, 8:51 pm
BE Enthusiast

wardy_1990 has a reputation beyond reputewardy_1990 has a reputation beyond reputewardy_1990 has a reputation beyond reputewardy_1990 has a reputation beyond reputewardy_1990 has a reputation beyond reputewardy_1990 has a reputation beyond reputewardy_1990 has a reputation beyond reputewardy_1990 has a reputation beyond reputewardy_1990 has a reputation beyond reputewardy_1990 has a reputation beyond reputewardy_1990 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Sitting the MELTS test whilst in Canada on an IEC

Yep you can do MELTS on IEC no problem.

Also you do not need uk class 1 to head over and start, it's definitely not an easy career and there will be a "right of passage" moment at a company for 2 years then you can find decent work.
Old Jun 10th 2023, 12:01 am
Forum Regular

Originally Posted by wardy_1990
Yep you can do MELTS on IEC no problem.