Go Back  British Expats > Working Abroad > Working Abroad by Profession > Trucking
Reload this Page >

Need a canadian truckers help!

Need a canadian truckers help!

Old Jan 4th 2011, 8:58 pm
Just Joined

peskypete is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Need a canadian truckers help!

Well, i am 19 years old and i live in the UK (unfortunatly...)
I want to become a trucker, and move over to canada but i was wondering what i should do to achieve this.
My current plan is...

Finish college (so i have something to fall back on)
Get my UK driving licence for manual car
Get a HGV/LGV licence
Work for 2 or 3 years in the UK (is this a MUST? I'd rather go straight to Canada and earn less)
Get a company to employ me

I have tried to list that as realistically as i can, i am not a dreamer, but this is an ambition, please just let me know what steps i must take.
Thanks

Last edited by peskypete; Jan 4th 2011 at 10:17 pm.
Old Jan 4th 2011, 11:10 pm
Just Joined

eire23 is just really niceeire23 is just really niceeire23 is just really niceeire23 is just really niceeire23 is just really niceeire23 is just really niceeire23 is just really niceeire23 is just really nice
Default Re: Need a canadian truckers help!

Another option for you if you want to get a taste of it and see if its for you is go do a season in America with a custom cutter. They are teams that start in the south of the country and head north cutting wheat as it matures.
The season runs from April to december, the visa you get is a H2A they organise that for you and you do an interview in the us embassy.
I have just returned from there, I landed over got my cdl got handed the keys to a Peterbilt 379 and we headed down to the mexican border in may and ended up at the canadian border in September and headed south to cut corn.
We spent the time hauling grain and moving the combinesand tractor and grain carts between jobs.