Manitoba Advice

Old Oct 16th 2012, 3:32 pm
Just Joined

revo is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Manitoba Advice

Hi everyone,

I am a 28 year old guy from the Liverpool and am hoping to find some advice on the possibility of finding class 1 work in Manitoba. I have been driving courier vans in the uk for a several years and want to move up to my HGV/ Class 1 and am wondering if I can do this in Canada as I have an IEC visa which is basically an open work permit (so no lmo needed) for a year but can be extended to two.

My plan is to move to Winnipeg and do my class 1 training at United Transportation Driver Training in Steinbach and then hopefully find a job which down the line will enable me to apply for my PR.

So my question is do you guys think this is a feasible plan? Is it possible to get any kind of class one work in manitoba without class 1 experience? I have been driving for over 10 years and have a clean licence. Any advice and thoughts would be really appreciated.

Cheers guys
Old Oct 16th 2012, 4:01 pm
Forum Regular

man240utd is just really niceman240utd is just really niceman240utd is just really niceman240utd is just really niceman240utd is just really niceman240utd is just really niceman240utd is just really niceman240utd is just really nice
Default Re: Manitoba Advice

You need to get your Class 1 in the UK, get a couple of years experience, then go over. You need to have driven Class 1 for 2 out of the last 5 years. You then have to take your class 1 again in Canada.
Old Oct 16th 2012, 4:02 pm
Forum Regular

man240utd is just really niceman240utd is just really niceman240utd is just really niceman240utd is just really niceman240utd is just really niceman240utd is just really niceman240utd is just really niceman240utd is just really nice

As well as written tests & Air brake test.
Old Oct 17th 2012, 2:22 am
BE Forum Addict

Location: 9 years in the canadian trucking industry... Niverville MB