Go Back  British Expats > Working Abroad > Working Abroad by Profession > Trucking
Reload this Page >

Class 1 licence, no experience, Canada emigration

Class 1 licence, no experience, Canada emigration

Old Apr 12th 2013, 1:07 pm
Forum Regular

nofrills is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Class 1 licence, no experience, Canada emigration

Hi

I've just gotten my class 1 licence here in the UK and I'm seriously considering emigrating to Canada.
I would have a few questions for those in the know about my chances of finding a company willing to employ someone without experience:
1. Would there be a company in Canada willing to employ someone without any experience, but only with Class 1 licence from the UK?
2. Which state or territory would be the best for me to consider?
I would prefer to go to Alberta, but from what I've read so far they require a few years of experience from outside Canada before they allow you on their PNP program
3. I've read somewhere, I think it was on trucknet forum someone said about knowing someone who was accepted by one of the Canadian companies straight after passing his Class 1 in the UK
4. What are my chances overall in my situation and if there is no chance for me right now, what is the absolute minimum experience I need to have behind my belt before I start contacting Canadian trucking companies?
5. My thinking is that since I've made up my mind about emigrating to Canada I might as well start getting experience in the country I'm planning to live in, instead of wasting my time in the UK and then moving to Canada and starting learning their way of doing things from the beginning.

Thanks
Old Apr 12th 2013, 5:00 pm
Forum Regular

spacemonkey will become famous soon enough
Default Re: Class 1 licence, no experience, Canada emigration

Experience is a pre-requisite of the LMO i believe so your chances are low, depends on if the company can waggle their way around it. BUT im by no mean an expert
Old Apr 13th 2013, 12:57 am