Reload this Page >

Struggling already with move from UK to SoCal

Struggling already with move from UK to SoCal

Old Jun 2nd 2011, 1:21 pm
Account Closed

scrubbedexpat027 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Struggling already with move from UK to SoCal

Hello all,

I wondered if anyone had any advice for the scarey situation I find myself in.
Long storey short, I've been working hard for over 10 years at my dream of moving to SoCal and am finally here. I'm at Stephenson Ranch and have a job sorted in Valencia to go to.
I've only been here for 2 days and am already feeling really low and struggling with the enormity of what I've done. (I'm 38 & have moved on my own btw). I wouldn't say it's homesickness as apart from a few close family members I'd lost contact with most people back home due to focusing so much on my goal. I think the culture shock is hitting me mainly. I have a rental car but am really nervous about driving on the roads here. I have problems with people understanding my accent when going for groceries. I have so much to do - sort a permanent apartment / car, start a new job, get a US drivers license etc and I'm already feeling totally overwhelmed.
I know it's very early days but I really wish I could be excited about the new opportunities that lie ahead of me instead of feeling so scared and low.
I've visited the US quite a few times previously on holiday but on the coast (Santa Monica / Venice) but this experience feels very different.
Old Jun 2nd 2011, 1:42 pm
SUPER MODERATOR

Jerseygirl has a reputation beyond reputeJerseygirl has a reputation beyond reputeJerseygirl has a reputation beyond reputeJerseygirl has a reputation beyond reputeJerseygirl has a reputation beyond reputeJerseygirl has a reputation beyond reputeJerseygirl has a reputation beyond reputeJerseygirl has a reputation beyond reputeJerseygirl has a reputation beyond reputeJerseygirl has a reputation beyond reputeJerseygirl has a reputation beyond repute