The Iron Road

Old Aug 12th 2020, 4:53 pm

Pulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond repute
Default The Iron Road

We have long had threads for planes and automobiles, why not trains?

I have been mulling over for several months starting a thread to discuss trains, and as a train has been headline news today in the UK, albeit for tragic reasons, today seems a good day to start the thread.

So Scotrail has experienced a serious derailment, reportedly killing three people, including the driver.

It used to be common practice to send out a train at slow speed after extreme weather on lines where there were bridges at risk from flood damage and where lines were at risk of being damaged by landslides or subsidence. I wonder if the reported landslip was unprecedented on that line?

On the matter of the train, I see that the canny Scots are now running 40 year old locomotives and rolling stock that started out on the old BR western region between London Paddington, SW England, and South Wales, though I believe that the same trains were used at one time on the Penzance - Aberdeen service, so may not be entirely unknown to Scotland.
Old Aug 12th 2020, 5:10 pm
Account Closed