British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   The Trailer Park (https://britishexpats.com/forum/trailer-park-96/)
-   -   How did you meet your SO? (https://britishexpats.com/forum/trailer-park-96/how-did-you-meet-your-so-190675/)

sibsie Nov 12th 2003 10:31 am

How did you meet your SO?

I must say that this site has been a life and sanity saver. I haven't been here long but people have been great. So friendly, welcoming and helpful.

I'm just starting out on the process and it's all a bit scary at the moment. I was wondering how you all met your partners?

I met the lovely Steve at the beginning of the year. The last thing I wanted was a long distance relationship. I'd done that before and had only been living in Spain for 6 months. Then along he came by sending me an instant message. We met within the month and have seen each other more or less every month since.

And now here we are, or rather he's there and I'm here in Spain planning to get me over there so we can get married and spend the rest of our lives together.

anggraeni Nov 12th 2003 1:34 pm

Re: How did you meet your SO?

hi, sibsie. :)
first of all, good luck with your process! i hope everything goes smooth.
i met my Douglas on the internet, feb 2002. i was working and BLING! an instant message popped up. then we started to chat. we shared everyday stories and thats the beginning of our trust in each other. then we started to call everyday, chat everyday.

june 2003 he came to indonesia to visit me and it was ended by our engagement. august we started the immigration process, january this year i got my visa. by the end of the feb he came to pick me up. now we are married and living here in usa.

just like you, i didnt believe a long distance relationship. furthermore i didnt believe internet romance! but hey, i am glad i took the opportunity to chat and trust him in the first place, Douglas is a really really sweet husband! :)

sometimes God just suprise you with His plan...