Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA > The Trailer Park
Reload this Page >

Electrical Step-Up Plug Units - Anyone try?

Electrical Step-Up Plug Units - Anyone try?

Old Feb 19th 2014, 6:45 am
Just Joined

BikerBear is an unknown quantity at this point
Question Electrical Step-Up Plug Units - Anyone try?

Hi Folks,

As I am a qualified chef, I have a large collection of kitchen appliances. As we are just about to move to America, I have been told that electrical step-up plugs should work.

Basically, you plug the unit into the American electrical socket, then plug the UK appliance into that unit. The unit "steps up" the electricity to provide the 240v required by the appliance.

Anyone try one of these?????

Many thanks!
Old Feb 19th 2014, 9:37 am
Lost in BE Cyberspace

Michael has a reputation beyond reputeMichael has a reputation beyond reputeMichael has a reputation beyond reputeMichael has a reputation beyond reputeMichael has a reputation beyond reputeMichael has a reputation beyond reputeMichael has a reputation beyond reputeMichael has a reputation beyond reputeMichael has a reputation beyond reputeMichael has a reputation beyond reputeMichael has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Electrical Step-Up Plug Units - Anyone try?

Originally Posted by BikerBear
Hi Folks,

As I am a qualified chef, I have a large collection of kitchen appliances. As we are just about to move to America, I have been told that electrical step-up plugs should work.

Basically, you plug the unit into the American electrical socket, then plug the UK appliance into that unit. The unit "steps up" the electricity to provide the 240v required by the appliance.

Many thanks!
Are you referring to a step-up transformer/voltage converter? They are large, heavy, ugly, get hot, and you need to purchase one that has enough wattage to run your appliances.

If you need to run a 2,000 watt appliance, you probably should get a step-up transformer of probably 3,000 watts or more.