Cars, Buy or Lease

Old Jul 3rd 2011, 6:19 pm
BE Forum Addict

HarryTheSpider has a reputation beyond reputeHarryTheSpider has a reputation beyond reputeHarryTheSpider has a reputation beyond reputeHarryTheSpider has a reputation beyond reputeHarryTheSpider has a reputation beyond reputeHarryTheSpider has a reputation beyond reputeHarryTheSpider has a reputation beyond reputeHarryTheSpider has a reputation beyond reputeHarryTheSpider has a reputation beyond reputeHarryTheSpider has a reputation beyond reputeHarryTheSpider has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Cars, Buy or Lease

Boiler asserts that leasing is for the mathematically challenged. That's both funny and crap We leased. I have a degree in electrical and electronic engineering, which means that I can do hard sums, yes, even long division, percentages and calculus

As I said before, we had several criteria when looking to get a car, and total cost of ownership was trumped by several other factors, including cash flow, ignorance of buying used cars, and risk aversion.

We're happy with the choice we made at the time, though our next car will be a second hand car that we buy.

Bob asserts that leasing doesn't build your credit history. I'm not sure what that means exactly (does it add to the FICO score or not?), BUT our lease is reported as a line of credit with full payment history etc on my credit report. This may be unusual, but it is there, on my credit history. It may not build credit score but it is part of our history and demonstrates, along with other lines of credit, that we can run/keep a sizeable credit in good order.

Just be very clear as to the criteria and constraints you have when getting a car - and if you can, buy a young second hand car...

Cheers

HTS
Old Jul 3rd 2011, 6:40 pm
Bob
BE Site Lead