Go Back  British Expats > Working Abroad > Working Abroad by Profession > Teaching
Reload this Page >

Teaching in New york City?...alternatively Canada!

Teaching in New york City?...alternatively Canada!

Old Jul 17th 2009, 11:57 am
Just Joined

YesteraysNews is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Teaching in New york City?...alternatively Canada!

Hi all,
know there are similar topics on here, which I have read through,

Have a couple of questions regarding teaching in the U.S,specifically New York City. I

have been researching this for a couple on months and drawn a blank; even contacting the New York Education Board hasn't bee a huge help. Basically I'm just about to start my NQT year and have some 6th Form experience as well as a TEFL qualification and am trained in Secondary English, Film and Drama. In a year or two (so around 2011) I hope to teach in New York City and, well, wondered where to start regarding the application process/finding out how to get 'in' to it?

I have a 1st Class degree in English and am finishing off an MEd also. I have no real clue where to start applying for posts,looking for what's needed etc. and, like I say, virtually every where I've checked seems to be of limited help!?

It was suggested that I could simply take the NYC teaching certficate and then (the hard part!) find a job. And that I didn't need to go through any other channels etc. as they would sort it for me. Apparently this is specific o NYC, or so I've been told.

I really don't want to take part in an exchange program as I want to specifcally teach in NYC - wondere if anyone could help?

Lastly! If there was not a snowball's chance in hell of me teaching in NYC I thought I'd enquire about Canada and wondered about the application process there.

Any help would be great, thanks.
Old Jul 19th 2009, 11:55 am
BE Forum Addict