Go Back  British Expats > Working Abroad > Working Abroad by Profession > Teaching
Reload this Page >

Teaching in Canada, is it possible for me?

Teaching in Canada, is it possible for me?

Old Feb 13th 2008, 1:02 pm
Lily

Yalily has a brilliant futureYalily has a brilliant futureYalily has a brilliant futureYalily has a brilliant futureYalily has a brilliant futureYalily has a brilliant futureYalily has a brilliant futureYalily has a brilliant future
Default Teaching in Canada, is it possible for me?

Hello everyone,

I think those already teaching in Canada are the ones who can help me the most.
I am still waiting for an answer to our application but i suppose is never to soon to ask these questions.

I am currently working as a KG2 (Foundation 2) class teacher in a school that follows the British Curriculum in the UAE. I am not a qualified teacher but here they are VERY flexible about this. I know it is not the same in other countries especially in Canada! but... I would love to continue working in this field either as a Kindergarten teacher or as an Elementary Teacher Assistant... I would like to study once I get to Canada, I've search some universities and community colleges but I am not sure about the information... so my questions are:

- What do I need to study to become a teacher in Canada? I have 3 other degrees (Hospitality Management, Advertising, Market Research, all three are two-years degrees)
- How long does it take to complete a program to qualify you as a teacher (elementary or kindergarten school teacher)?
- What do I need to study to become a teacher's assistant? How long does it take?

I am 38 years old and I need to work as soon as possible once I get to Canada... so the lenght of time required to complete the program is a major factor here... I could work doing something else while I finish school but I hope to be able to continue to work in the education field.

I thank you in advance for your time and info
Old Feb 14th 2008, 2:03 pm