British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   Teaching (https://britishexpats.com/forum/teaching-80/)
-   -   Teachers contracted hours (https://britishexpats.com/forum/teaching-80/teachers-contracted-hours-290041/)

Nick11 Mar 14th 2005 8:19 pm

Teachers contracted hours

Hi, I would appreciate your comments/views.

I work as a foundation teacher(part time)I work Wednesday afternoon,all day Thursday and Friday.On my contract it says the pupil week is 27.5 hours, but my working time is specified as 13.5 hours.It says I'm required to work 1265 hours over 195 days per year,plus 'any work needed to discharge the teachers duties'
Does this mean than I am working in excess of 20 hours a week, or would DIMIA class it as less.Obviously anyone who teaches knows you don't turn up at 9 in the morningwith the kids and leave at the end of the day with them, but would the relevant authorities see it as this.
Does anyone out there have any experiences similar to this when dealing with Dimia.
I thought it might be better posting this thread on here,rather than the main immigration site.
THANKS

Robinson Family Mar 14th 2005 9:23 pm

Re: Teachers contracted hours

Hi Nick
Last year we were all set to apply for a vias using my skills and qualifications. I am a secondary teacher. At the time I worked three full days (16.5). We were unable to apply for a visa because of the 20 hour ruling. Really unfair !!!!because like many I spend lots of hours doing prep etc.
We were lucky because my hubbie trained has a toolmaker when he left school and his skills got us our visa.
Speak with a migration agent. Pm me if you want the name of ours. They will be able to explain the ruling.
Hope things work out.
Andrea

Originally Posted by Nick11