Go Back  British Expats > Working Abroad > Working Abroad by Profession > Teaching
Reload this Page >

To teach or not to teach?! Would you go back to uni?

To teach or not to teach?! Would you go back to uni?

Old Oct 14th 2006, 3:21 pm
sneaking a peek ...

Tiggs+Graz has a reputation beyond reputeTiggs+Graz has a reputation beyond reputeTiggs+Graz has a reputation beyond reputeTiggs+Graz has a reputation beyond reputeTiggs+Graz has a reputation beyond reputeTiggs+Graz has a reputation beyond reputeTiggs+Graz has a reputation beyond reputeTiggs+Graz has a reputation beyond reputeTiggs+Graz has a reputation beyond reputeTiggs+Graz has a reputation beyond reputeTiggs+Graz has a reputation beyond repute
Default To teach or not to teach?! Would you go back to uni?

sorry this is a little long winded...!

i have been a stay at home mum for the past 4 years and now that we are in the process of applying for our pr visa for oz i am looking at my options for returning to work once we have (hopefully!) moved.

When i did my uk degree (in IT) several years ago it was with the intention of carrying on to do a PGCE and teaching in secondary school. As things turned out i never quite got around to going back to uni!!

Part of the dilemma that i now find myself in is that on personal reflection i now realise that i really should have done a primary teaching degree and gone into primary education. However the though of going back to uni now for four years (with a husband 3 kids and a dog) does not fill me with delight - been there done that ... would rather do something else!

So... thoughts and experiences please on:
do i look at doing my pgce and teaching secondary education? (is this a bad idea if i am not sure it is for me?!)
Do i bite the bullet and go back to uni for four years ?!!!!