Go Back  British Expats > Working Abroad > Working Abroad by Profession > Teaching
Reload this Page >

re-post from yesterday - re teaching- advice pls

re-post from yesterday - re teaching- advice pls

Old Jun 15th 2007, 3:24 pm
Just Joined

misstukatz is an unknown quantity at this point
Default re-post from yesterday - re teaching- advice pls

would having a PGCE (FE) in art,help with job prospects abroad - say in Spain perhaps
I am about to do a PGCE to teach art and design at further ed level, and plan to stay in uk for a couple of years and gain experience, but really want to live somewhere warmer, and work abroad - bring my daughter up in a nicer place etc ....anyone had experience of teaching at further ed level abroad, does having the PGCE count over there, and also would it help towards points for a TEFL or equivalent if i had to back myself up with extra work teaching english? really would want to teach art / craft though - and poss to expats - any advice...any recommended places???? sorry lots of questions!
Old Jun 15th 2007, 6:17 pm
BE Forum Addict

Gems has a reputation beyond reputeGems has a reputation beyond reputeGems has a reputation beyond reputeGems has a reputation beyond reputeGems has a reputation beyond reputeGems has a reputation beyond reputeGems has a reputation beyond reputeGems has a reputation beyond reputeGems has a reputation beyond reputeGems has a reputation beyond reputeGems has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: re-post from yesterday - re teaching- advice pls

PGCE is generally recognised world wide. You should not have a problem getting a job with this qualification.

However not get any experience of higher ed.

But not sure if you would be better off doing high school Art and Design PGCE! Teaching IGCE and Baclaureate level (equivelent to Alevels).

As plenty of jobs in International schools for teacher including Spain. Also your daughter would get free education at the school.
See www.tesjobs.co.uk