GTP Toronto

Old Mar 15th 2006, 6:37 pm
Just Joined

DerbyRam is an unknown quantity at this point
Default GTP Toronto

Please could you help. I have applied for PR in Nov 04, with the aim of teaching when I get to Toronto. I am a mature GTP qualified Teacher with 6 years experience of teaching ICT at secondary level in the UK.
I recently was informed that my GTP qualification may not be recognised in Canada. I find this unbelievable. Please can anybody else inform me of the facts.
Old Mar 18th 2006, 9:25 am
Forum Regular

jon254 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: GTP Toronto

If you check out the information on the OCT web site you'll find that the GTP route is not recognised since it does not contain the theory aspects OCT requires from their teaching courses.

You'll also find that getting info out of them prior to landing is much like blood out of a stone. The other problem we have (I too am ICT) is that Ontario ICT is actually computer science so is a very different curriculum. The closest thing to our ICT curriculum is actually their Business studies courses.

Sorry if the news is n't what you want to hear, but from all the info I've gathered so far that seems to be the way it works.

Jon
Old Mar 19th 2006, 12:36 pm
Just Joined

DerbyRam is an unknown quantity at this point

Thanks Jon for all your help. Its probably not what I wanted to hear but I appreciate your time to respond. I will have to consider an alternative strategy now. Thanks

Originally Posted by jon254
If you check out the information on the OCT web site you'll find that the GTP route is not recognised since it does not contain the theory aspects OCT requires from their teaching courses.