Go Back  British Expats > Working Abroad > Working Abroad by Profession > Teaching
Reload this Page >

Graduate Diploma os Education - ECS or Primary? Very Confused!

Graduate Diploma os Education - ECS or Primary? Very Confused!

Old Sep 10th 2010, 3:23 am
Just Joined

starseed35 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Graduate Diploma os Education - ECS or Primary? Very Confused!

Hi guys,

I am currently working and living in Seoul as a homeroom teacher to Grade 3 students at an English Immersion elementary school and have been at this job for two years now. During this time, I have decided that teaching is for me, and would like to ultimately emigrate to Australia and become a certified teacher.

I would like to go directly to Australia from Korea and start my Graduate Diploma of Education there, and upon graduation, gain employment in Australia (I realize this is not necessarily an easy thing to do) or abroad, at an International school.

I understand that Primary School teachers are no longer on the SOL in Australia. I want to take my Graduate Diploma of Education in either ECS or Primary. I am confused as to the qualifications these two diplomas leave you with. I have read on some sites that pre-primary school ages include 4-8 year olds. Is this correct? If so, it would be perfect for me, as I have really enjoyed teaching Grade 2/3 these past few years and would like to continue doing so.

If not, to teach or to be granted a working visa as a pre-primary teacher, must you have a pre-primary qualification? Could you teach the earlier years with a primary diploma? On the flip side, if I got the Grad Dip (ECS) in Australia, could I teach regular primary ages outside of Australia? (ie., international schools) or does this limit me?

Any advice is greatly appreciated!
Old Sep 10th 2010, 4:46 am
BE Forum Addict