Go Back  British Expats > Working Abroad > Working Abroad by Profession > Teaching
Reload this Page >

Getting harassed by a migration agent and actually quite tempted. What do ppl think?

Getting harassed by a migration agent and actually quite tempted. What do ppl think?

Old Apr 22nd 2009, 2:21 pm
Forum Regular

Bev_n is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Getting harassed by a migration agent and actually quite tempted. What do ppl think?

Hi there

I just got a call from a migration agent, she went through all of my options and said that i qualified for the State Skilled Migrant Visa, which I already knew anyway. She said that my 12 months on supply may not be sufficient as 12 months experience but it will probably be ok if I have pay slips from my supply agency from over a year ago and a letter from the agency.

She said it will cost £3,300 paid in 3 instalments:

£100 To register and receive information pack with all the documentation to start the process.

£1850 When you send the documents back.

£1350 Final payment

But they take £1750, the rest are immigration fees. So is that like saying I could save £1750 by going alone?

I'm quite tempted to just pay it because they set up a bank account, arrange for your Tax File Number and guarantee your visa. I'm not really sure how to do the bank account and the tax stuff so that would be something less to think about.

What do people think? have any of you gone with an agent and regretted it?

Hope someone can help me out

bev xxx
Old Apr 22nd 2009, 2:53 pm
Account Closed

derekgoforth is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Getting harassed by a migration agent and actually quite tempted. What do ppl thi

the bank account is dead easy to set up as is the TFN. i really cant see how they can offer to guarantee a visa, are there any guarantees in this process.

which part of aus are you wanting to go to?