British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   Spain (https://britishexpats.com/forum/spain-75/)
-   -   Where do I start? (https://britishexpats.com/forum/spain-75/where-do-i-start-941040/)

Cjpyne Oct 11th 2021 12:48 am

Where do I start?

Hi all

my wife and I are keen to move to Asturias. My wife is from Asturias and we feel we would have a better life there. I work as a Project Manager in construction but I am struggling to work out how I can work in Spain as I have only a very basic level of Spanish. Does anyone have any ideas?

many thanks

chris

Chipmonk Oct 11th 2021 6:35 am

Re: Where do I start?

Originally Posted by Cjpyne (Post 13060524)
Hi all

my wife and I are keen to move to Asturias. My wife is from Asturias and we feel we would have a better life there. I work as a Project Manager in construction but I am struggling to work out how I can work in Spain as I have only a very basic level of Spanish. Does anyone have any ideas?

many thanks

chris

The good thing is that your wife is Spanish and from the area. This gives you more of a reason to move to Spain and will make adjusting easier. Bad news will be work for you. Asturias is not a big tourist area for English speakers which means Englush won't be hugely advantageous. It is not very likely you would get a project management position without Spanish and lesser positions would probably require even highly levels. Obviously learning Spanish is a must and with a Spanish speaking partner with family ( I presume) you will get access to the language but it will take at least 3 years of fairly dedicated learning to be competent enough to be an independent user. I suppose it is a case of the lifestyle you want and if your wife can be the bread winner- for a few years.

Cjpyne Oct 11th 2021 6:48 am

Thanks for the response. My initial thoughts we whether I could work remotely for a UK company until my Spanish had improved. Is this something anyone has experience with?