Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Europe > Spain
Reload this Page >

Water bills - what to expect

Water bills - what to expect

Old Nov 19th 2014, 1:40 pm
BE Enthusiast

keithBT is an unknown quantity at this point
Question Water bills - what to expect

Being a newbie I would like to know what I should expect to pay for water bills. Since April this year I seem to have paid roughly 30 euros a month to giahsa. I have a 3 bed duplex on ME. I received bills in the post box for april, may and june but nothing since then. Last month I was debited 38 odd euros. Whether they actually read the meter I dont know. Maybe after six months they read the meter and update their earlier estimates. As an owner we do not have access to read our water meter located in the locked cabinets. I looked online to see if I could register to read / receive bills onliine, but could not see this as an option. Assuming we will not occupy the apartment much until spring and consumption could be NIL, can anyone suggest what the bills might be please? I'm guessing there is an element of standing charges based on the property, rather than purely on water consumption.

Thanks, keith
Old Nov 19th 2014, 3:22 pm
Forum Regular

sunqueen is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Water bills - what to expect

We have a 2 bed on LE. standing charge is 9.89 per bill - so every 2 months. Ave bill is approx 30 euro's and we visit most months. Standing charges are always the largest elements of the bill. You can read your meter of your caretaker has a key. Perhaps your community president will know this?
Old Nov 20th 2014, 10:23 am
BE Enthusiast