Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Europe > Spain
Reload this Page >

Ugijar info wanted and Hi from new member

Ugijar info wanted and Hi from new member

Old Apr 12th 2007, 3:20 pm
Just Joined

Lemain is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Ugijar info wanted and Hi from new member

Hi folks, this is my first post to the forum. I have spent an hour or three going over past posts - nice, knowledgeable and friendly crowd you all seem to be!

My wife and I are presently doing a sabbatical on our yacht, presently staying in Almerimar (El Ejido, Almeria) and still with a year or so of sailing left, maybe. We have decided to pack up in the UK and come to live in Spain - having been in Spain for a couple of years now we are not complete newbies but there is a lot we don't know.

We have been house hunting - well, area hunting, really - from Ayamonte to Alicante and south. Lots of really nice areas - and not such nice areas. We are presently targetting the Ugijar area +/- 40km preferably at the very edge of a pueblo with some garden or something more like a cortijo with plenty of land (which we might get a local to look after for us) maybe off-grid (which is what we do on our boat). It seems that microwave internet/phone is now well established at prices not much more than ordinary Telefonica lines but are they any good? By reading past threads, I see that red diesel is no problem and that has affected my thinking considerably (half price diesel for electric generator).

We don't have children so schools are not an issue and our Spanish is coming along nicely so while we enjoy the company of Brits we can get by quite well in Spanish and find that the locals from this part of the country are especially warm and welcoming.