Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Europe > Spain
Reload this Page >

Television in Spain

Television in Spain

Old Dec 13th 2003, 6:25 am
  #1  
Just Joined
Thread Starter
 
steveb's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2002
Location: Spain
Posts: 12
steveb is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Television in Spain

Can anybody help me regarding Sky Tv in Spain?

I have a Sky decoder and active viewing card but need a dish. I'm on the Southern Costa Blanca.

Do I need a 2metre dish? Somebody I visited was watching Sky on a much smaller dish.

Do I need to retune/configure the decoder. If so some advice on how to do so would be greatly appreciated.

The so called 'specialists' say a large dish is needed and will install one for me for 1500 Euros(so helpful of them!!!). I believe that they are just trying to rip me off(as so many ex-pats try to do!).

Any advice will help me.
steveb is offline  
Old Dec 13th 2003, 6:40 am
  #2  
C.G.D.S
 
sibsie's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2003
Location: Ireland--->London--->Spain--->Rockport, MA
Posts: 3,353
sibsie has a reputation beyond reputesibsie has a reputation beyond reputesibsie has a reputation beyond reputesibsie has a reputation beyond reputesibsie has a reputation beyond reputesibsie has a reputation beyond reputesibsie has a reputation beyond reputesibsie has a reputation beyond reputesibsie has a reputation beyond reputesibsie has a reputation beyond reputesibsie has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Television in Spain

I'm N Costa Blanca and need a 2.4M to pick up BBC.

If you don't want BBC you can get away with a smaller size like a 1.8

The codes are the following.

On your remote

Press SERVICES THEN
4
0
1
SELECT (It's a hidden menu)

Then go down to Number 2 DEFAULT TRANSPONDER

FREQUENCY Should be 11.791 (don't put in the .) then POLARISATION Right ARROW TO H

THEN "SAVE NEW SETTINGS"

THEN GO BACK TO "FREQUENCY" AND PUT IN 11.819
THEN FREQUENCY = V
THEN SAVE

then press Sky and you're good to go.

Sky installers are one of the biggest rip offs on the costa and no way should it be the amount they quoted. Shop around and try and get word of mouth recommendations.

Hope that helps and let me know if you get stuck.
sibsie is offline  
Old Dec 20th 2003, 1:18 am
  #3  
BE Forum Addict
 
Joined: Nov 2003
Location: Cartama, Malaga
Posts: 1,168
bfg69bug has a reputation beyond reputebfg69bug has a reputation beyond reputebfg69bug has a reputation beyond reputebfg69bug has a reputation beyond reputebfg69bug has a reputation beyond reputebfg69bug has a reputation beyond reputebfg69bug has a reputation beyond reputebfg69bug has a reputation beyond reputebfg69bug has a reputation beyond reputebfg69bug has a reputation beyond reputebfg69bug has a reputation beyond repute
Default

sibs, ur just a fountain of information aint u babe

hehe...

1500€ u r having a giraffe!!!!! its only 599€ for a complete system innit ?? jeezus ur bein ripped off if u pay that much for it

on the costa del sol, a dish alone is about 300€ i think, and thats installed. they even set it up for you.

we are on the costa del sol, have UK sky with a bbc card. we have a 2m dish, and we recieve the bbc channels fine. so as the ´sol is about 400 miles more than the n.´blanca, i´d guess (i´m not a sky installer) that a 1.8m would suffice ? maybe even smaller ??
bfg69bug is offline  
Old Dec 20th 2003, 1:35 am
  #4  
C.G.D.S
 
sibsie's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2003
Location: Ireland--->London--->Spain--->Rockport, MA
Posts: 3,353
sibsie has a reputation beyond reputesibsie has a reputation beyond reputesibsie has a reputation beyond reputesibsie has a reputation beyond reputesibsie has a reputation beyond reputesibsie has a reputation beyond reputesibsie has a reputation beyond reputesibsie has a reputation beyond reputesibsie has a reputation beyond reputesibsie has a reputation beyond reputesibsie has a reputation beyond repute
Default

You actually get much better reception down on the Costa Del Sol. It's meant to be due to the Footprints but could be because they beam it better to Gibralter? Dunno for sure. S Costa Blanca is also better than where I am in N Costa B for reception too.

Anyway after the BBC changed systems in summer you needed a larger dish to get BBC1 and BBC2 has only really just come online with that new system.

I have Easties back. Hoorah!!!!!!

Also if you are getting a new system find out if you're covered if they change the cards and or system again. No point forking out all those Euros if they then change it and you can't watch the thing.
sibsie is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Contact Us - Manage Preferences - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.