British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   Spain (https://britishexpats.com/forum/spain-75/)
-   -   TEFL - A little knowledge .........??? (https://britishexpats.com/forum/spain-75/tefl-little-knowledge-709503/)

stevesainty Mar 15th 2011 9:05 pm

TEFL - A little knowledge .........???

Whilst browsing through some old threads I happened on a great debate about TEFL and the relative merits of it as a qualification. Some people who held the qualification but had no teaching experience floundered when they actually began teaching. Others said that the only worthy qualification was a CELTA but this was not for beginners.

This got me thinking about how to use some of the spare time I will have when I retire to Spain.

I spent a career in the UK Fire Service and a good many years of that career was spent in teaching of one form or another. I have been a tutor in lots of different genres; to young children, WI as the guest speaker, colleagues or people who paid to come on a Fire Warden's course etc.

The thrill of leaving the students with more knowledge then they arrived with always left me with a buzz.

However I wonder if I would have had as much success if I hadn't known my subject inside out.

My question is this, would it be beneficial for me to take a TEFL course that was say 40 hours classroom work and 120 hours online? This is the type of course one can enrol for on the internet.

I would love to be able to teach english; in the beginning as a swap to learn better Spanish but later to earn a bit of pocket money.

I have been learning Spanish part time at an adult education institute for over 2 years now.

What do you think?

bil Mar 15th 2011 10:02 pm

Re: TEFL - A little knowledge .........???

God knows. I thought along those lines too, but on enquiring at a school here,. I was told that they had such teachers coming out of their ears, so I reckoned the work wasn't worth the candle.

Veleta Mar 15th 2011 10:14 pm