British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   Spain (https://britishexpats.com/forum/spain-75/)
-   -   Spanish Ikea Credit Card for UK resident. (https://britishexpats.com/forum/spain-75/spanish-ikea-credit-card-uk-resident-933986/)

Handbag Jul 26th 2020 10:42 pm

Spanish Ikea Credit Card for UK resident.

I am a UK resident. I do have a property in Spain, as well as an NIE number and a bank account. Does anyone know if you need to be a Spanish Resident to get or am I able to get one. I have tried applying online, but didn't get very far as don't have Spanish tel. no. so, it stopped me from continuing.

Joppa Jul 27th 2020 12:55 am

Re: Spanish Ikea Credit Card for UK resident.

I don't know any specifics about that credit card, but generally speaking it will be difficult to take out a credit card in the country where you have no credit record, as credit check will be part of the application process. No business will want to extend credit facilities (i.e. lending money) if they aren't reasonably sure that it will be repaid.

Handbag Jul 27th 2020 4:36 am

Thank you. have had a Spanish bank account go 20 years and pay utilities and tax so I do have some credit history. Not sure if this is enough.

Hopefully there will be someone who has tried to get one and has a definite answer.

Notdunroamin Jul 27th 2020 7:57 am

Originally Posted by Handbag (Post 12887827)
I am a UK resident. I do have a property in Spain, as well as an NIE number and a bank account. Does anyone know if you need to be a Spanish Resident to get or am I able to get one. I have tried applying online, but didn't get very far as don't have Spanish tel. no. so, it stopped me from continuing.

Before you get too excited I'd check out the T&C's for the card.

Unlike UK credit cards you'll likely find that it's more of a charge card which has to be cleared either each month or over a very short period.

FWIW it's not necessarily about credit history.