Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Europe > Spain
Reload this Page >

Set-top box to receive British TV in Spain

Set-top box to receive British TV in Spain

Old Oct 20th 2014, 3:15 am
  #1  
BE Forum Addict
Thread Starter
 
Retired in Euskadi's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2011
Location: Elorrio, Bizkaia
Posts: 1,038
Retired in Euskadi has a reputation beyond reputeRetired in Euskadi has a reputation beyond reputeRetired in Euskadi has a reputation beyond reputeRetired in Euskadi has a reputation beyond reputeRetired in Euskadi has a reputation beyond reputeRetired in Euskadi has a reputation beyond reputeRetired in Euskadi has a reputation beyond reputeRetired in Euskadi has a reputation beyond reputeRetired in Euskadi has a reputation beyond reputeRetired in Euskadi has a reputation beyond reputeRetired in Euskadi has a reputation beyond repute
Default Set-top box to receive British TV in Spain

Our satellite TV man here installed a set-top box (IRIS make) with a 60cm dish; all we got was BBC World! He'd got it pointed to Astra 19.2⁰ E. According to the September edition of the UK magazine "What Satellite", all the English channels we want are at Astra 28.2⁰ E.
The channels we want is BBC 1,2,3,4, ITV 1,2,3, Channel 4 & not a lot more. Definitely NOT Sky.
We might be able to get away with a 90cm dish here in the north, as opposed to larger dishes that are needed in southern Spain.

We're going to England for Christmas. My question is would a set-top box bought in the UK work here in Spain & if so, what sort would be recommended.
We have a new Bang & Olufsen 32"TV.
Thanks in advance for any help.
Retired in Euskadi is offline  
Old Oct 20th 2014, 3:37 am
  #2  
Retired and loving it!
 
snikpoh's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Location: Ontinyent - Valencia region (campo)
Posts: 5,173
snikpoh has a reputation beyond reputesnikpoh has a reputation beyond reputesnikpoh has a reputation beyond reputesnikpoh has a reputation beyond reputesnikpoh has a reputation beyond reputesnikpoh has a reputation beyond reputesnikpoh has a reputation beyond reputesnikpoh has a reputation beyond reputesnikpoh has a reputation beyond reputesnikpoh has a reputation beyond reputesnikpoh has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Set-top box to receive British TV in Spain

Originally Posted by Retired in Euskadi
Our satellite TV man here installed a set-top box (IRIS make) with a 60cm dish; all we got was BBC World! He'd got it pointed to Astra 19.2⁰ E. According to the September edition of the UK magazine "What Satellite", all the English channels we want are at Astra 28.2⁰ E.
The channels we want is BBC 1,2,3,4, ITV 1,2,3, Channel 4 & not a lot more. Definitely NOT Sky.
We might be able to get away with a 90cm dish here in the north, as opposed to larger dishes that are needed in southern Spain.

We're going to England for Christmas. My question is would a set-top box bought in the UK work here in Spain & if so, what sort would be recommended.
We have a new Bang & Olufsen 32"TV.
Thanks in advance for any help.

I don't understand why you think you need a new box.

Just use the old one but realign the dish (might need to be larger though).
snikpoh is online now  
Old Oct 20th 2014, 3:41 am
  #3  
 
Fred James's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2006
Location: Granada Costa
Posts: 10,945
Fred James has a reputation beyond reputeFred James has a reputation beyond reputeFred James has a reputation beyond reputeFred James has a reputation beyond reputeFred James has a reputation beyond reputeFred James has a reputation beyond reputeFred James has a reputation beyond reputeFred James has a reputation beyond reputeFred James has a reputation beyond reputeFred James has a reputation beyond reputeFred James has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Set-top box to receive British TV in Spain

From various reception reports, you may need at least a 1.3m dish.

BBC & Sky satellite news and info for Spain, Portugal and Western Europe: Reception Reports

You can buy cheap generic receivers for £50 upwards, but personally I would get a Humax Freesat HD+ box. Until we lost the signal we used that and it was very good and very easy to set up recordings as it will get the full EPG (program guide) which the generic boxes do not.

You could also try the Intelsat 907 option. More info on this thread from post 149 onwards.

http://britishexpats.com/forum/ayamo...-829560/page4/

Last edited by Fred James; Oct 20th 2014 at 3:50 am.
Fred James is offline  
Old Oct 20th 2014, 4:08 am
  #4  
Started off with nothing
 
missile's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 4,950
missile has a reputation beyond reputemissile has a reputation beyond reputemissile has a reputation beyond reputemissile has a reputation beyond reputemissile has a reputation beyond reputemissile has a reputation beyond reputemissile has a reputation beyond reputemissile has a reputation beyond reputemissile has a reputation beyond reputemissile has a reputation beyond reputemissile has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Set-top box to receive British TV in Spain

To answer your question a set top box purchased in UK works in Spain.

I believe some boxes have a better tuner and cope with a weak signal better than others. I brought my Sky+ box from the UK and it worked very well.

The channels you mention are all freesat, i.e. no Sky subscription required.

Last edited by missile; Oct 20th 2014 at 4:15 am.
missile is offline  
Old Oct 20th 2014, 5:16 am
  #5  
Banned
 
Joined: Feb 2011
Location: Mallorca
Posts: 19,367
amideislas has a reputation beyond reputeamideislas has a reputation beyond reputeamideislas has a reputation beyond reputeamideislas has a reputation beyond reputeamideislas has a reputation beyond reputeamideislas has a reputation beyond reputeamideislas has a reputation beyond reputeamideislas has a reputation beyond reputeamideislas has a reputation beyond reputeamideislas has a reputation beyond reputeamideislas has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Set-top box to receive British TV in Spain

Originally Posted by missile
To answer your question a set top box purchased in UK works in Spain.

I believe some boxes have a better tuner and cope with a weak signal better than others. I brought my Sky+ box from the UK and it worked very well.

The channels you mention are all freesat, i.e. no Sky subscription required.
Even more shocking: Boxes purchased in Spain work in Spain! Even the cheap ones - in fact, many of the cheap ones have better tuners -especially the €49 HD boxes.
amideislas is offline  
Old Oct 20th 2014, 5:19 am
  #6  
Was called something else
 
The Guy's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: Gandia, Valencia
Posts: 1,941
The Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond reputeThe Guy has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Set-top box to receive British TV in Spain

Your current box will work fine for the UK TV channels - if your dish is aligned to 28 east
But if you want automatic channel updates and a full 7 day programme guide, then you will need a UK Freesat box.

But this all depends on where you are in Spain, and your dish size.

And from the reception reports - Astra 2E Spain. Astra 2E Satellite. Astra 2E footprint. Astra 2E reception in Spain. Astra 2E Signal Map. Astra 2E UK TV in Spain. Astra 2E Costa Del Sol. Astra 2E Andalucia. Astra 2E Barcelona. Astra 2E Portugal. Astra 2E Algarve. Astra 2E Costa Bla - you need at least a "1.5m" dish in the San Sebastian area, very carefully aligned if you want BBC ITV C4s and Fives.

So your current 60cm dish, and your thought of a 90cm dish is still too small.
The Guy is offline  
Old Oct 20th 2014, 6:54 am
  #7  
BE Forum Addict
Thread Starter
 
Retired in Euskadi's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2011
Location: Elorrio, Bizkaia
Posts: 1,038
Retired in Euskadi has a reputation beyond reputeRetired in Euskadi has a reputation beyond reputeRetired in Euskadi has a reputation beyond reputeRetired in Euskadi has a reputation beyond reputeRetired in Euskadi has a reputation beyond reputeRetired in Euskadi has a reputation beyond reputeRetired in Euskadi has a reputation beyond reputeRetired in Euskadi has a reputation beyond reputeRetired in Euskadi has a reputation beyond reputeRetired in Euskadi has a reputation beyond reputeRetired in Euskadi has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Set-top box to receive British TV in Spain

Originally Posted by The Guy
Your current box will work fine for the UK TV channels - if your dish is aligned to 28 east
But if you want automatic channel updates and a full 7 day programme guide, then you will need a UK Freesat box.

But this all depends on where you are in Spain, and your dish size.

And from the reception reports - Astra 2E Spain. Astra 2E Satellite. Astra 2E footprint. Astra 2E reception in Spain. Astra 2E Signal Map. Astra 2E UK TV in Spain. Astra 2E Costa Del Sol. Astra 2E Andalucia. Astra 2E Barcelona. Astra 2E Portugal. Astra 2E Algarve. Astra 2E Costa Bla - you need at least a "1.5m" dish in the San Sebastian area, very carefully aligned if you want BBC ITV C4s and Fives.

So your current 60cm dish, and your thought of a 90cm dish is still too small.
Many thanks for the posts. We are in Elorrio, about 40km east of Bilbao, with mountains up to 1400m nearby.
Will pass on the info to our satellite chap.
Retired in Euskadi is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Contact Us - Manage Preferences Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Your Privacy Choices -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.