Reload this Page >

Paying tax in Spain on Gibraltar investments

Paying tax in Spain on Gibraltar investments

Old Jun 23rd 2011, 8:00 am
Just Joined

andaluciaexpat is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Paying tax in Spain on Gibraltar investments

Hi,

I am a Spanish resident and pay tax here in Spain. I have some money invested in Gibraltar (only since tax yr 2010). My question is, I am legally bound to declare the interest earned in my Declaracion de la Renta?

My (Spanish) other half says not on your life, you'd be mad to, don't let the Spanish govt know you've even got it, or they'll fleece you. My accountant says, yes, declare the interest, because if they find out later on that you've got it, but didn't declare it, they'll fleece you then.

Are you legally obliged to declare income from Gibraltar if you live and pay tax in Spain? Or is it up to you, because it's a tax haven - ie most people don't because they don't have to, but if they get caught, they get into big trouble with Hacienda?

Can anyone please tell me either their experience, or just give me some advice?

I need to make a decision, with 30 June, the deadline for tax returns here in Spain, fast approaching.

Thanks
Old Jun 23rd 2011, 8:41 am
Retired and loving it!

snikpoh has a reputation beyond reputesnikpoh has a reputation beyond reputesnikpoh has a reputation beyond reputesnikpoh has a reputation beyond reputesnikpoh has a reputation beyond reputesnikpoh has a reputation beyond reputesnikpoh has a reputation beyond reputesnikpoh has a reputation beyond reputesnikpoh has a reputation beyond reputesnikpoh has a reputation beyond reputesnikpoh has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Paying tax in Spain on Gibraltar investments

Originally Posted by andaluciaexpat
Hi,

I am a Spanish resident and pay tax here in Spain. I have some money invested in Gibraltar (only since tax yr 2010). My question is, I am legally bound to declare the interest earned in my Declaracion de la Renta?