British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   Spain (https://britishexpats.com/forum/spain-75/)
-   -   Non lucrative visa (https://britishexpats.com/forum/spain-75/non-lucrative-visa-939609/)

bettybug Jul 18th 2021 12:21 pm

Non lucrative visa

Hi, can anyone please explain to me what the requirements are for the non lucrative visa. There is so much disinformation out there. I have been on the Spanish and British portals????.
Please can someone respond with accurate easy to understand instructions.
Pplease british citizen that has done the process this year
Thanks Mike

stevesainty Jul 18th 2021 3:19 pm

Re: Non lucrative visa

I have not done the process, as I am a Spanish resident already.

Here are the main points

You must apply in UK, not in Spain
Once granted, it lasts for 90 days, during which you are expected to have applied for a TIE in Spain.
With a NLV you apply, in Spain, for temporary residency, TIE, for 1 Year.
The income required for main applicant, for 2021, is either 2,259.60€ per month or savings of 27,115.20€ for the main applicant and an extra 564.90€ per month or savings of 6,778.80€ for each extra person. This is for the first year only.
You need to have private medical insurance with no co-payments.
The renewal of your TIE is for 2 years, so you need to prove either the monthly income, or double the savings for the 1st year.
The second renewal of your TIE is also for 2 years and you need to meet the same income requirement
You are not allowed to work, not even remotely, with the NLV, but rental or investment income is allowed.
When you have had your TIE for 5 years you are classed as permanent residents.

After the first year of NLV you are at liberty, whilst living in Spain, to apply for a different type of visa that may allow you to work.

tebo53 Jul 18th 2021 3:25 pm

Originally Posted by bettybug (Post 13030609)