Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Europe > Spain
Reload this Page >

NI - Who do I pay?

NI - Who do I pay?

Old Dec 27th 2006, 9:23 pm
BE Enthusiast

billgates has a reputation beyond reputebillgates has a reputation beyond reputebillgates has a reputation beyond reputebillgates has a reputation beyond reputebillgates has a reputation beyond reputebillgates has a reputation beyond reputebillgates has a reputation beyond reputebillgates has a reputation beyond reputebillgates has a reputation beyond reputebillgates has a reputation beyond reputebillgates has a reputation beyond repute
Default NI - Who do I pay?

I've been living in Spain for the last 18 months but still work for a UK company. I'm a computer programmer and work from home writing software for this company and up until now I've been informed that as I work for a UK company I come under the UK tax and insurance PAYE system. Spain gets its cut via the reciprocal dual taxation agreement between the UK and Spain.

However, after 18 months of paying UK tax and NI I have been informed by the good and wise people at Newcastle that I should now be paying Spanish NI.

I forwarded this letter to the wages dept at my company in UK. As a sweetener they have reimbursed me with my entire NI contributions for 2006 and a footnote along the lines of "Merry Christmas".

Now this lump sum in my bank account is very tempting. My wife has already spent it in her head. Unfortunately, alarm bells are ringing.

For a start we receive tax credits and child benefit through the UK system. What happens with this? Will this have to be repaid?

Will I have to pay back-pay of Spanish NI for 2006?

Can I just go out and spend all this money (which is what I really want to do) safe and assured that it can't be claimed back?

Is there anyone on this board that has some knowledge about the UK/Spanish tax/NI system or should I seek the advise of "someone in the know".

Cheers.
Old Dec 28th 2006, 12:51 am
BE Forum Addict