Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Europe > Spain
Reload this Page >

Looking to move to Spain... all advice and info welcome!

Looking to move to Spain... all advice and info welcome!

Old Nov 24th 2007, 2:44 pm
Just Joined

alex_bradley is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Looking to move to Spain... all advice and info welcome!

Hi,

My partner Tom and I are looking to move to Spain in 18 months when I graduate from university. I am currently a second year trainee primary teacher and Tom is a sales manager for NatWest bank. We want to move abroad for the slower pace of life, the food, because of the overcrowding here, for the weather, the scenery and the nature. What we don't want is to get to 60 and regret never trying it. We are prepared to learn Spanish intensively, although whether or not I would be confident to teach in Spanish I don't know. (Sometimes it is difficult to understand children's concepts in English, let alone a 2nd language!)

Tom is a go getter, I am a naturally cautious person. I am researching every angle possible and Tom is providing the drive. I have found 27 jobs in Spain on the Times Educational Supplement website, some of which weren't my age range, some of which didn't accept Newly Qualified Teachers, but a few of which I could have applied to as a graduate. I have found several positions for Tom as a mortgage advisor which don't actually need fluent Spanish.

I have found houses for £50,000 which would need a lick of paint but otherwise seem okay. I understand you have to be 25 to get a mortgage though?

I don't really know anything about the regions, but I assume we would end up living where our jobs take us. I would want to live among Spanish people, somewhere fairly small but with some amenities such as a small supermarket. I think the logistics of finding two jobs and a house all reasonably close to each other will be tough. I don't know how good public transport is.