Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Europe > Spain
Reload this Page >

Internet help - Alhaurin El Grande

Internet help - Alhaurin El Grande

Old May 18th 2009, 6:49 pm
  #1  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Zaragozaram's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2009
Location: Zaragoza, by way of Cambridgeshire, and now Alhaurin El Grande
Posts: 111
Zaragozaram is just really niceZaragozaram is just really niceZaragozaram is just really niceZaragozaram is just really niceZaragozaram is just really niceZaragozaram is just really niceZaragozaram is just really niceZaragozaram is just really niceZaragozaram is just really niceZaragozaram is just really nice
Default Internet help - Alhaurin El Grande

Hello all, need some advice please.

I am moving to the campos outside Alhaurin EG during the summer and am needing to set up the internet. The house does not have a land line so our normal broadband internet package with Telefonica will not work. Does anybody have an opinion on the best way to go? Is it getting internet via a dongle through say Orange, my current mobile provider, or is it best to use someone like Connect 4 or Mercury?

Ideally we would like sometime that multiple pcs can use at the same time and something that is not going to cost us the earth.

Thanks in advance

Chris
Zaragozaram is offline  
Old May 18th 2009, 6:58 pm
  #2  
BE Forum Addict
 
Joined: Jul 2006
Location: Leigh, Lancs. Ex Valencia!
Posts: 1,778
valenciatim has a reputation beyond reputevalenciatim has a reputation beyond reputevalenciatim has a reputation beyond reputevalenciatim has a reputation beyond reputevalenciatim has a reputation beyond reputevalenciatim has a reputation beyond reputevalenciatim has a reputation beyond reputevalenciatim has a reputation beyond reputevalenciatim has a reputation beyond reputevalenciatim has a reputation beyond reputevalenciatim has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Internet help - Alhaurin El Grande

If you can get a decent enough signal with a dongle, This may be of use;-

http://tienda.vodafone.es/movil/mode...i_e960?s=modem

18 month contract @ €39 a month, 3 gig allowance per month at 3 meg (ish!), use over 3 gig and speed drops to 128k, but no further charges. I am using one now and have 4 pc's connected wirelessly. Works fine!
valenciatim is offline  
Old May 19th 2009, 6:26 pm
  #3  
Banned
 
Joined: Feb 2009
Location: Alhaurin de la Torre, Malaga Province
Posts: 704
jojojojojojojojojojojojo has a reputation beyond reputejojojojojojojojojojojojo has a reputation beyond reputejojojojojojojojojojojojo has a reputation beyond reputejojojojojojojojojojojojo has a reputation beyond reputejojojojojojojojojojojojo has a reputation beyond reputejojojojojojojojojojojojo has a reputation beyond reputejojojojojojojojojojojojo has a reputation beyond reputejojojojojojojojojojojojo has a reputation beyond reputejojojojojojojojojojojojo has a reputation beyond reputejojojojojojojojojojojojo has a reputation beyond reputejojojojojojojojojojojojo has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Internet help - Alhaurin El Grande

I thought most of El Grande had ADSL access??? Connect 4 do something tho?? maybe worth a look??

jo xx
jojojojojojojojojojojojo is offline  
Old May 19th 2009, 7:11 pm
  #4  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Zaragozaram's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2009
Location: Zaragoza, by way of Cambridgeshire, and now Alhaurin El Grande
Posts: 111
Zaragozaram is just really niceZaragozaram is just really niceZaragozaram is just really niceZaragozaram is just really niceZaragozaram is just really niceZaragozaram is just really niceZaragozaram is just really niceZaragozaram is just really niceZaragozaram is just really niceZaragozaram is just really nice
Default Re: Internet help - Alhaurin El Grande

Am I right in thinking that for ADSL access, you need a landline?

If so, we do not have one.
Zaragozaram is offline  
Old May 19th 2009, 7:17 pm
  #5  
Banned
 
Joined: Feb 2009
Location: Alhaurin de la Torre, Malaga Province
Posts: 704
jojojojojojojojojojojojo has a reputation beyond reputejojojojojojojojojojojojo has a reputation beyond reputejojojojojojojojojojojojo has a reputation beyond reputejojojojojojojojojojojojo has a reputation beyond reputejojojojojojojojojojojojo has a reputation beyond reputejojojojojojojojojojojojo has a reputation beyond reputejojojojojojojojojojojojo has a reputation beyond reputejojojojojojojojojojojojo has a reputation beyond reputejojojojojojojojojojojojo has a reputation beyond reputejojojojojojojojojojojojo has a reputation beyond reputejojojojojojojojojojojojo has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Internet help - Alhaurin El Grande

Originally Posted by Zaragozaram View Post
Am I right in thinking that for ADSL access, you need a landline?

If so, we do not have one.
Yes you need a landline, you need wireless, my oh recommends "connect4 WiFi" for el grande. We've been looking at properties over there and we wont even look if they dont have ADSL cos he needs it for his business, thats why I thought most places over that way have it

Jo xx
jojojojojojojojojojojojo is offline  
Old May 20th 2009, 6:49 pm
  #6  
Just Joined
 
pbmorse's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2009
Location: Estepona, Andalucia
Posts: 9
pbmorse is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Internet help - Alhaurin El Grande

You can set up an "ad hoc" network with Windows as long as the PC the dongle is plugged into is always switched on (obviously!)
pbmorse is offline  
Old May 20th 2009, 10:44 pm
  #7  
BE Forum Addict
 
Joined: May 2004
Location: Guadalhorce Valley, Málaga
Posts: 1,059
Beachcomber is a splendid one to beholdBeachcomber is a splendid one to beholdBeachcomber is a splendid one to beholdBeachcomber is a splendid one to beholdBeachcomber is a splendid one to beholdBeachcomber is a splendid one to beholdBeachcomber is a splendid one to beholdBeachcomber is a splendid one to beholdBeachcomber is a splendid one to beholdBeachcomber is a splendid one to beholdBeachcomber is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: Internet help - Alhaurin El Grande

There are many suppliers of wireless ADSL in Alhaurín el Grande but make sure you choose a legitimate one as some of them just rebroadcast a domestic landline ADSL service which as well as being highly illegal is also very slow.

Some rural areas close to the town have landlines but don't assume that just because telephone cables run alongside the road or lane you will be able to obtain a telephone. The problem is that there is insufficient capacity in the exchange.
Beachcomber is offline  
Old May 21st 2009, 6:14 am
  #8  
Retired and loving it!
 
snikpoh's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Location: Ontinyent - Valencia region (campo)
Posts: 4,991
snikpoh has a reputation beyond reputesnikpoh has a reputation beyond reputesnikpoh has a reputation beyond reputesnikpoh has a reputation beyond reputesnikpoh has a reputation beyond reputesnikpoh has a reputation beyond reputesnikpoh has a reputation beyond reputesnikpoh has a reputation beyond reputesnikpoh has a reputation beyond reputesnikpoh has a reputation beyond reputesnikpoh has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Internet help - Alhaurin El Grande

Originally Posted by Beachcomber View Post
There are many suppliers of wireless ADSL in Alhaurín el Grande but make sure you choose a legitimate one as some of them just rebroadcast a domestic landline ADSL service which as well as being highly illegal is also very slow.

Some rural areas close to the town have landlines but don't assume that just because telephone cables run alongside the road or lane you will be able to obtain a telephone. The problem is that there is insufficient capacity in the exchange.
As with most of Spain it seems!!!
snikpoh is offline  
Old May 21st 2009, 8:58 am
  #9  
Banned
 
Joined: Feb 2009
Location: Alhaurin de la Torre, Malaga Province
Posts: 704
jojojojojojojojojojojojo has a reputation beyond reputejojojojojojojojojojojojo has a reputation beyond reputejojojojojojojojojojojojo has a reputation beyond reputejojojojojojojojojojojojo has a reputation beyond reputejojojojojojojojojojojojo has a reputation beyond reputejojojojojojojojojojojojo has a reputation beyond reputejojojojojojojojojojojojo has a reputation beyond reputejojojojojojojojojojojojo has a reputation beyond reputejojojojojojojojojojojojo has a reputation beyond reputejojojojojojojojojojojojo has a reputation beyond reputejojojojojojojojojojojojo has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Internet help - Alhaurin El Grande

Originally Posted by Beachcomber View Post
Some rural areas close to the town have landlines but don't assume that just because telephone cables run alongside the road or lane you will be able to obtain a telephone. The problem is that there is insufficient capacity in the exchange.

excellent point!!! We have that trouble in the village where we live!

Jo xxx
jojojojojojojojojojojojo is offline  
Old May 22nd 2009, 2:24 am
  #10  
Just Joined
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Posts: 11
rolypolyworld is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Internet help - Alhaurin El Grande

Originally Posted by jojojojojojojojojojojojo View Post
excellent point!!! We have that trouble in the village where we live!

Jo xxx
lol.
rolypolyworld is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.