Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Europe > Spain
Reload this Page >

Initial questions about moving to Spain

Initial questions about moving to Spain

Old Jul 21st 2013, 4:18 pm
Forum Regular

Summer-Caitlin is just really niceSummer-Caitlin is just really niceSummer-Caitlin is just really niceSummer-Caitlin is just really niceSummer-Caitlin is just really niceSummer-Caitlin is just really niceSummer-Caitlin is just really niceSummer-Caitlin is just really niceSummer-Caitlin is just really niceSummer-Caitlin is just really nice
Smile Initial questions about moving to Spain

Hi all

I am new to the Spain Forum but not new to moving abroad. I lived in Malta for a short spell last year and prior to that lived in the Scotland and Australia. I now live in England.

I am very interested in moving to Spain, the Madrid area to be exact. I have been looking through these threads and researching online prices of rental properties etc. So far the only site that seems pretty good is idealista.com, is this a reputable site? Is renting a simple process in Spain?

Anyway I am currently a Paralegal at a very good law firm however I moved to Malta for the hopes of having an easier life all round. I have a husband and two year old son and unfortunately Malta didn't offer what we had hoped so we returned to the UK. I am thinking about doing a CELTA or TEFL course and possibly teaching English in Spain and I heard Madrid is the best place to start. My husband writes so can pick up and go anyway.

My concerns are I do not want to make the same mistake again and make the move to Madrid and encounter the same problems we had in Malta. The problems we had in Malta were not ones that could have been discovered on holiday, it was only when living and working there did it become apparent. So I thought I would ask you all for advice.