Reload this Page >

Importing furniture into Gibraltar

Importing furniture into Gibraltar

Old Feb 6th 2011, 9:19 am
Forum Regular

synthie is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Importing furniture into Gibraltar

Hi,
I finally moved into Gibraltar about two months ago and now found that we need a couple of things like book shelves, etc. We plan to head to IKEA in Malaga and buy several pieces of furniture.

What I don't know is if I have to declare any of this at the border, can someone please point me in the right direction? I had a look at a Customs site which says that you'll need to declare anything above £32 worth of value which strikes me as unrealistic.

If we have to declare anything, would we have to pay VAT or something else? Do we need to ask IKEA not to add VAT as we'll export it to Gibraltar?

As you can tell I'm new to all the importing stuff, any help would be appreciated!
Old Feb 6th 2011, 9:45 pm
BE Forum Addict

Rotor has a reputation beyond reputeRotor has a reputation beyond reputeRotor has a reputation beyond reputeRotor has a reputation beyond reputeRotor has a reputation beyond reputeRotor has a reputation beyond reputeRotor has a reputation beyond reputeRotor has a reputation beyond reputeRotor has a reputation beyond reputeRotor has a reputation beyond reputeRotor has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Importing furniture into Gibraltar

Originally Posted by synthie
Hi,
I finally moved into Gibraltar about two months ago and now found that we need a couple of things like book shelves, etc. We plan to head to IKEA in Malaga and buy several pieces of furniture.

What I don't know is if I have to declare any of this at the border, can someone please point me in the right direction? I had a look at a Customs site which says that you'll need to declare anything above £32 worth of value which strikes me as unrealistic.