British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   Spain (https://britishexpats.com/forum/spain-75/)
-   -   import duties from china (https://britishexpats.com/forum/spain-75/import-duties-china-914195/)

Paul Davies in Spain Jun 22nd 2018 9:39 am

import duties from china

Hello All

My first post

I am building a house in Almeria (Vera) and i wnt to import my light fixtures for the house as i am a lighting designer and have a specific design as well as good price from regular suppliers

I sent some items before but had really bad trouble importing and then got really whacked for around 480eu duty on a 995 dollar shipment

These need to go to my builder as i am in Dubai so not there to help any issues like last time so it needs to be staright forward

Does anyone have any advice on how i could import and guarantee i pay the correct duty or as i was advised as easier, send to the UK and bring via there which would bring a second question

Does anyone have a cheap and reliable delivery method to spain from the south of england ?

Are there any paperwork complications ?

Any comments / experienced advice
welcome

All the best

Paul

tonisdad Jun 22nd 2018 5:49 pm

Re: import duties from china

Originally Posted by Paul Davies in Spain (Post 12520603)
Hello All

My first post

I am building a house in Almeria (Vera) and i wnt to import my light fixtures for the house as i am a lighting designer and have a specific design as well as good price from regular suppliers

I sent some items before but had really bad trouble importing and then got really whacked for around 480eu duty on a 995 dollar shipment

These need to go to my builder as i am in Dubai so not there to help any issues like last time so it needs to be staright forward

Does anyone have any advice on how i could import and guarantee i pay the correct duty or as i was advised as easier, send to the UK and bring via there which would bring a second question