Reload this Page >

Hiya! Am new here!

Hiya! Am new here!

Old Dec 19th 2011, 5:44 pm
Just Joined

jord26 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Hiya! Am new here!

Hiya there,

I know there is an introductions page but to be honest I might as well get down to the nitty-gritty! My fiancée is Spanish and we'll have been together for 6 years this coming February. I am working here in the UK (as a Multilingual Helpdesk Analyst) and she is working in Spain (as an English teacher in a language academy). We have been apart for all of our relationship, apart from a year when I did my Masters in Barcelona in Translation Studies (where she's from). We are definitely looking at me moving out there this coming year (if all goes to plan) and have been looking at several areas to live in (she is still living with her parents and brother and I am still living at home here), like Castelldefels, Gavà and Sant Boi.

In theory I'd like to be out there by say autumn next year as time is ticking on (I'm 26 now, but will be 27 then and she's 25, will be 26 then), so I just wondered whether you guys had any suggestions about how we could kcik start our plans?

I do actually have a 'Permiso de residencia' (the one you need for staying in an EU country for over 3 months, can't remember the exact name as haven't seen it for ages, but have it here somewhere), so obviously would need an NIE (Número de Identificación de Extranjería) as soon as I'd got out there and done the 'empadronamiento' with the local town hall, wherever we ended up settling.

My major snag is finding a job and hopefully being happy out there, as well as finding somewhere to live asap!

Has anyone got any suggestions?

Thanks a lot!

Jordan
Old Dec 19th 2011, 5:51 pm
Lost in BE Cyberspace