Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Europe > Spain
Reload this Page >

healthcare in spain

healthcare in spain

Old Jun 5th 2009, 5:49 am
Retired and loving it!

snikpoh has a reputation beyond reputesnikpoh has a reputation beyond reputesnikpoh has a reputation beyond reputesnikpoh has a reputation beyond reputesnikpoh has a reputation beyond reputesnikpoh has a reputation beyond reputesnikpoh has a reputation beyond reputesnikpoh has a reputation beyond reputesnikpoh has a reputation beyond reputesnikpoh has a reputation beyond reputesnikpoh has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: healthcare in spain

Originally Posted by Mitzyboy
Me as an example.
I lived in the UK for 52 years and paid into the system for about 35 years.
Then I moved to Spain. I got 18 months cover in the Spanish system and thats it. I of course have an EHIC card but its no use to me as I am a resident in Spain now. The NHS wont treat me when I go back if I am there on holiday. I had to pay to see a doctor.

So yes, you may have a house in the UK and you may (I dont know) manage to get an NHS card. But it wont be any use to you when you get to Spain. You havent paid into the system in the UK, so you wont get any free cover here. Unless you work you will have to get private care.

I hope that explains it more concisely for you. If health care is so important to you then you need to (a) work or (b) get private cover
And to clarify further; The UK system is residence based so you MAY get an NHS card.
In Spain, the system is contribution based. As you haven't paid into the Spanish system and have no contributions to transfer from UK, you will probably get nothing in Spain
Old Jun 5th 2009, 2:47 pm
Account Closed

Phoebedance is an unknown quantity at this point

okay, thanks for all your feedback, thoughts, and suggestions.

I will just need to look a bit more into the system. I will post my results once I understand what my position actually is.
Old Jun 5th 2009, 6:20 pm