British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   Spain (https://britishexpats.com/forum/spain-75/)
-   -   Establishing residency in Spain with no income but plenty of assets (https://britishexpats.com/forum/spain-75/establishing-residency-spain-no-income-but-plenty-assets-918875/)

MaraBuckley Nov 1st 2018 6:37 am

Establishing residency in Spain with no income but plenty of assets

My husband (British, Australian, American citizen) owns a house in Mallorca where we are hoping to establish residency at in order to get my EEA Family Visa (I am an American citizen). He has left his job to care for his ailing mother in England, and I work as a waitress in the U.S. Although our combined income at the moment is around $35,000, his house in Mallorca is worth 500,000 euro. He also owns properties in the U.S., Australia and England. Would our assets be acceptable in leu of steady income if we were to apply for an EEA Family Permit in Spain?

snikpoh Nov 1st 2018 8:29 am

Re: Establishing residency in Spain with no income but plenty of assets

Presumably those properties are generating income via rent?

If not, do you have cash in the bank. You need some money to live on.

The requirements are not just income but income and/or savings.

Moses2013 Nov 1st 2018 8:42 am

Originally Posted by MaraBuckley (Post 12586067)
My husband (British, Australian, American citizen) owns a house in Mallorca where we are hoping to establish residency at in order to get my EEA Family Visa (I am an American citizen). He has left his job to care for his ailing mother in England, and I work as a waitress in the U.S. Although our combined income at the moment is around $35,000, his house in Mallorca is worth 500,000 euro. He also owns properties in the U.S., Australia and England. Would our assets be acceptable in leu of steady income if we were to apply for an EEA Family Permit in Spain?