English TV

Old Mar 4th 2007, 3:40 pm
  #1  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
cajam31's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 275
cajam31 has much to be proud ofcajam31 has much to be proud ofcajam31 has much to be proud ofcajam31 has much to be proud ofcajam31 has much to be proud ofcajam31 has much to be proud ofcajam31 has much to be proud ofcajam31 has much to be proud ofcajam31 has much to be proud ofcajam31 has much to be proud ofcajam31 has much to be proud of
Default English TV

Will my tv work in Spain? i was told it would, but now been told it wont. Don't want to lug it all the way over if it isnt going to work, i'll sell it before i leave if thats the case.
thanks!
cajam31 is offline  
Old Mar 4th 2007, 3:57 pm
  #2  
Drunken Monkey
 
Fuzzlepop's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: Playa Flamenca
Posts: 906
Fuzzlepop has a reputation beyond reputeFuzzlepop has a reputation beyond reputeFuzzlepop has a reputation beyond reputeFuzzlepop has a reputation beyond reputeFuzzlepop has a reputation beyond reputeFuzzlepop has a reputation beyond reputeFuzzlepop has a reputation beyond reputeFuzzlepop has a reputation beyond reputeFuzzlepop has a reputation beyond reputeFuzzlepop has a reputation beyond reputeFuzzlepop has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: English TV

Originally Posted by cajam31 View Post
Will my tv work in Spain? i was told it would, but now been told it wont. Don't want to lug it all the way over if it isnt going to work, i'll sell it before i leave if thats the case.
thanks!
well i brought a brand new lcd tv from england and got it shipped over via dhl.

works perfect mate, the make is LG and its a LCD.

hope that helps.
Fuzzlepop is offline  
Old Mar 4th 2007, 3:59 pm
  #3  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
cajam31's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 275
cajam31 has much to be proud ofcajam31 has much to be proud ofcajam31 has much to be proud ofcajam31 has much to be proud ofcajam31 has much to be proud ofcajam31 has much to be proud ofcajam31 has much to be proud ofcajam31 has much to be proud ofcajam31 has much to be proud ofcajam31 has much to be proud ofcajam31 has much to be proud of
Default Re: English TV

cheers for that.
booked the ferry today for hubby, he's leaving on the 19th, seems really real now.
cajam31 is offline  
Old Mar 4th 2007, 3:59 pm
  #4  
Senior Moment
 
Mitzyboy's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: On the edge
Posts: 20,460
Mitzyboy has a reputation beyond reputeMitzyboy has a reputation beyond reputeMitzyboy has a reputation beyond reputeMitzyboy has a reputation beyond reputeMitzyboy has a reputation beyond reputeMitzyboy has a reputation beyond reputeMitzyboy has a reputation beyond reputeMitzyboy has a reputation beyond reputeMitzyboy has a reputation beyond reputeMitzyboy has a reputation beyond reputeMitzyboy has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: English TV

Originally Posted by cajam31 View Post
Will my tv work in Spain? i was told it would, but now been told it wont. Don't want to lug it all the way over if it isnt going to work, i'll sell it before i leave if thats the case.
thanks!
From what I have read over the last year or two, if it is a relatively modern TV then it will be no problem. Some older TV's have a problem with sound on terrestrial Spanish TV, but if you are getting a sat package then that shouldn't bother you. Electrical goods generally work fine, although I noticed the CD carriers on my cinema system, computer and dvd player stick slightly sometimes.

In general, also all the white goods we bought over here have functioned perfectly
Mitzyboy is offline  
Old Mar 4th 2007, 4:35 pm
  #5  
Smarties
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: Liverpool, soon to be Hondon De Las Nieves
Posts: 238
SmartiesUK is just really niceSmartiesUK is just really niceSmartiesUK is just really niceSmartiesUK is just really niceSmartiesUK is just really niceSmartiesUK is just really niceSmartiesUK is just really niceSmartiesUK is just really niceSmartiesUK is just really nice
Default Re: English TV

Originally Posted by Mitzyboy View Post
From what I have read over the last year or two, if it is a relatively modern TV then it will be no problem.
I have a new Phillips LCD I was going to sell but will keep it now. If I bring my SKY+ box what would be the very basic channels I would get. I have l looked on the SKY site but its crap. I will drop to the minimum monthly fee but not sure if that will get me the usual BBC and ITV etc Mitzy I have seen a similar thread you answered in on another site so you may have the answer for me
SmartiesUK is offline  
Old Mar 4th 2007, 4:47 pm
  #6  
Just Joined
 
Joined: Sep 2006
Location: Scotland/Chiclana, Spain
Posts: 26
weemac is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: English TV

Our little portable doesn't work. Then again its about 10 years old..thats why we thought we would take it. It has been put away in the top of the wardrobe for another day...or car boot sale?

weemac is offline  
Old Mar 4th 2007, 4:57 pm
  #7  
Drunken Monkey
 
Fuzzlepop's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: Playa Flamenca
Posts: 906
Fuzzlepop has a reputation beyond reputeFuzzlepop has a reputation beyond reputeFuzzlepop has a reputation beyond reputeFuzzlepop has a reputation beyond reputeFuzzlepop has a reputation beyond reputeFuzzlepop has a reputation beyond reputeFuzzlepop has a reputation beyond reputeFuzzlepop has a reputation beyond reputeFuzzlepop has a reputation beyond reputeFuzzlepop has a reputation beyond reputeFuzzlepop has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: English TV

Originally Posted by SmartiesUK View Post
I have a new Phillips LCD I was going to sell but will keep it now. If I bring my SKY+ box what would be the very basic channels I would get. I have l looked on the SKY site but its crap. I will drop to the minimum monthly fee but not sure if that will get me the usual BBC and ITV etc Mitzy I have seen a similar thread you answered in on another site so you may have the answer for me
SmartiesUK dont bring your sky box it wont work out here.

You have to get a sky setup from sum copmany....they all charge about 500euro install and then 20-30 euros a month for like 30-40 chans. hope that helps.
Fuzzlepop is offline  
Old Mar 4th 2007, 7:22 pm
  #8  
jdr
RETIRED ;-))
 
jdr's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2003
Location: Benalmadena Pueblo,Spain
Posts: 20,156
jdr has a reputation beyond reputejdr has a reputation beyond reputejdr has a reputation beyond reputejdr has a reputation beyond reputejdr has a reputation beyond reputejdr has a reputation beyond reputejdr has a reputation beyond reputejdr has a reputation beyond reputejdr has a reputation beyond reputejdr has a reputation beyond reputejdr has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: English TV

Originally Posted by SmartiesUK View Post
I have a new Phillips LCD I was going to sell but will keep it now. If I bring my SKY+ box what would be the very basic channels I would get. I have l looked on the SKY site but its crap. I will drop to the minimum monthly fee but not sure if that will get me the usual BBC and ITV etc Mitzy I have seen a similar thread you answered in on another site so you may have the answer for me
Skybox will work in Spain, but you will need a bigger dish
You will still get the free channels if you cancel the subs.
jdr is offline  
Old Mar 4th 2007, 7:43 pm
  #9  
BE Enthusiast
 
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 445
Solarwhizz is a name known to allSolarwhizz is a name known to allSolarwhizz is a name known to allSolarwhizz is a name known to allSolarwhizz is a name known to allSolarwhizz is a name known to allSolarwhizz is a name known to allSolarwhizz is a name known to allSolarwhizz is a name known to allSolarwhizz is a name known to allSolarwhizz is a name known to all
Default Re: English TV

Originally Posted by Fuzzlepop View Post
SmartiesUK dont bring your sky box it wont work out here.

You have to get a sky setup from sum copmany....they all charge about 500euro install and then 20-30 euros a month for like 30-40 chans. hope that helps.
All Sky receivers (Skyboxes) will work in Spain Inc SKY+ and HD, however there are limitations,
Firstly depending on where you are you will need a larger dish In spain than the UK, I would advise buying a dish off a local installer, and ask him to set up to your SKY box, there has been a spate recently of people buying the petalled dishes in the UK for about 100£, They are very difficult to set up and have generally a poor gain, they will work but if you live in an area where you need a 2.4M dish for BBC and ITV, you may have trouble.
Some boxes dont work as well as others, for example the older Pace 2500 series (Black boxes).
If you have a sky box and existing contract, I would bring it with you, try to make sure you dont have it offline for more than a couple of days, as you may lose any upgrade signals, which could disable your card, whatever happens dont let Sky know that you have now taken the card and box to Spain, as they will disable the card.
You can generally arrange a SKY contract thru sat installers in Spain, but they will charge extra for it. (All done with no UK address requirement etc), You will need a premium contract to be able to use all the features on the SKY+ or HD systems.
UK TV's will work off sky boxes Ok thru both the Scart and the RF outputs, however you may have trouble receiving the sound off Spanish terrestrial transmissions on older TV's, newer ones give you options to choose reception parameters, and on some of the upmarket labels this is automatic,
You should have no trouble picking up any Sat transmissions thru a Digibox and scart leads.
You will not need to pay a subscription to receive BBC1, ITV1/2/3/4 and a host of other Free to view channels broadcast on the Astra Satellites (about 40 +), this also applies to the Free radio stations. However you will need to have a SKY free to view card to view CH4 CH5, and a few others, These will cost about 75€ in Spain (20£ from Sky in the UK), and there are no further payments.

Last edited by Solarwhizz; Mar 4th 2007 at 7:49 pm.
Solarwhizz is offline  
Old Mar 5th 2007, 9:36 am
  #10  
BE Enthusiast
 
derek500's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 300
derek500 has a spectacular aura aboutderek500 has a spectacular aura aboutderek500 has a spectacular aura about
Default Re: English TV

Originally Posted by Fuzzlepop View Post
SmartiesUK dont bring your sky box it wont work out here.

You have to get a sky setup from sum copmany....they all charge about 500euro install and then 20-30 euros a month for like 30-40 chans. hope that helps.
If you were given this misinformation by a dealer here in Spain, they should be named and shamed!!
derek500 is offline  
Old Mar 5th 2007, 9:07 pm
  #11  
Banned
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Hoping to get away from UK to Spain
Posts: 1,826
Big Pete has a reputation beyond reputeBig Pete has a reputation beyond reputeBig Pete has a reputation beyond reputeBig Pete has a reputation beyond reputeBig Pete has a reputation beyond reputeBig Pete has a reputation beyond reputeBig Pete has a reputation beyond reputeBig Pete has a reputation beyond reputeBig Pete has a reputation beyond reputeBig Pete has a reputation beyond reputeBig Pete has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: English TV

Originally Posted by derek500 View Post
If you were given this misinformation by a dealer here in Spain, they should be named and shamed!!
Yea , named shamed and strung up by there goolies i reckon

On a similar note though and with the expert solarwhiz reading the forum ,

I was visiting relatives last week and was very very very impressed by his new satellite system ..
it was a large motorized dish system with about a 2 metre dish , a top Lnb system .. He demonstrated the system to me and well it totaly blew me away he gets like 1,000 yes u read it right 1,000 stations from everywhere in the world .. all free of charge .. he even gets sky film channels free german . spanish, turkish arabs ,usa loads and loads .all the subscription channels he gets .. this he does by apparently being able to download of the internet pirate encryption data , that goes onto a card thing that then slides into a sleeve which then goes into his sat box !!
Didnt have to much time to fully understand all the technical stuff he was pounding me head with but the final cost was £400 !! he installed it himself mind you ..

So thats the way i will be going for sure ..

and Uk tv works just use the Scart leads ...
Big Pete is offline  
Old Mar 5th 2007, 9:36 pm
  #12  
BE Enthusiast
 
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 445
Solarwhizz is a name known to allSolarwhizz is a name known to allSolarwhizz is a name known to allSolarwhizz is a name known to allSolarwhizz is a name known to allSolarwhizz is a name known to allSolarwhizz is a name known to allSolarwhizz is a name known to allSolarwhizz is a name known to allSolarwhizz is a name known to allSolarwhizz is a name known to all
Default Re: English TV

[QUOTE=Big Pete;4486148]Yea , named shamed and strung up by there goolies i reckon

this he does by apparently being able to download of the internet pirate encryption data ,

Tut Tut,,, and why would you want to deprive Rupert Murdoch of his millions by being a pirate!! I would never admit to doing such a thing

Solarwhizz is offline  
Old Mar 5th 2007, 11:42 pm
  #13  
BE Forum Addict
 
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,234
big wheels has a reputation beyond reputebig wheels has a reputation beyond reputebig wheels has a reputation beyond reputebig wheels has a reputation beyond reputebig wheels has a reputation beyond reputebig wheels has a reputation beyond reputebig wheels has a reputation beyond reputebig wheels has a reputation beyond reputebig wheels has a reputation beyond reputebig wheels has a reputation beyond reputebig wheels has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: English TV

Originally Posted by Big Pete View Post
I was visiting relatives last week and was very very very impressed by his new satellite system ..
it was a large motorized dish system with about a 2 metre dish , a top Lnb system .. He demonstrated the system to me and well it totaly blew me away he gets like 1,000 yes u read it right 1,000 stations from everywhere in the world .. all free of charge .. he even gets sky film channels free german . spanish, turkish arabs ,usa loads and loads .all the subscription channels he gets .. this he does by apparently being able to download of the internet pirate encryption data , that goes onto a card thing that then slides into a sleeve which then goes into his sat box !!
Didnt have to much time to fully understand all the technical stuff he was pounding me head with but the final cost was £400 !! he installed it himself mind you ..
I can guarantee that he is NOT receiving the "Sky" film channels for free:
I will even bet you a case of "old Peculiar" that he isn't
Believe me. I have been in this game a long time since the days you needed a 2m dish to pick up the only 3 or 4 satellite channels that were strong enough to receive in the UK. (Long before Sky was even thought of)

But you are right, most other subscription sat tv packages, including D+ Spain, Premiere tv Germany, Tv Cabo portugal, Canal + France, along with some others are available free, and have been so on and off for years with the right equipment, and a bit of know how
To be honest I wouldn't watch Sky, even if it was hacked
I have been watching the latest films (in English) and premier league, La Liga football etc for many years without paying a penny in subscription fees.
And long may it continue

BTW
Did he mention the numerous XXX porn channels?? Not that I watch them of course.

Last edited by big wheels; Mar 6th 2007 at 12:22 am.
big wheels is offline  
Old Mar 6th 2007, 8:40 am
  #14  
BE Enthusiast
 
Mrs eddie's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: Oliva
Posts: 452
Mrs eddie is a glorious beacon of lightMrs eddie is a glorious beacon of lightMrs eddie is a glorious beacon of lightMrs eddie is a glorious beacon of lightMrs eddie is a glorious beacon of lightMrs eddie is a glorious beacon of lightMrs eddie is a glorious beacon of lightMrs eddie is a glorious beacon of lightMrs eddie is a glorious beacon of lightMrs eddie is a glorious beacon of lightMrs eddie is a glorious beacon of light
Default Re: English TV

Originally Posted by SmartiesUK View Post
I have a new Phillips LCD I was going to sell but will keep it now. If I bring my SKY+ box what would be the very basic channels I would get. I have l looked on the SKY site but its crap. I will drop to the minimum monthly fee but not sure if that will get me the usual BBC and ITV etc Mitzy I have seen a similar thread you answered in on another site so you may have the answer for me
We brought our sky box with us and kept the subscription.....works fine, just needed a big satellite dish...I think ours 1.8?? Cant get BBC1,BBC2, ITV or Channel 4...can get Channel 5 tho....

Thinking of changing to a Spanish cable package ..but not sure which one to go with?
Mrs eddie is offline  
Old Mar 6th 2007, 5:47 pm
  #15  
Rob in Madrid
 
tim hortons man's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2006
Location: Madrid
Posts: 267
tim hortons man is just really nicetim hortons man is just really nicetim hortons man is just really nicetim hortons man is just really nicetim hortons man is just really nicetim hortons man is just really nicetim hortons man is just really nicetim hortons man is just really nice
Default Re: English TV

Originally Posted by Mrs eddie View Post
We brought our sky box with us and kept the subscription.....works fine, just needed a big satellite dish...I think ours 1.8?? Cant get BBC1,BBC2, ITV or Channel 4...can get Channel 5 tho....

Thinking of changing to a Spanish cable package ..but not sure which one to go with?
You don't need sky TV to get english TV. Alot of Spanish channels offer an OV option including TDT. We have telefoncia and it gets shows faster than sky did, we hit the yellow button and volla it switches over to OV. TDT (free TV) also has several OV options mostly movies.

Before anyone complains that Spanish TV is crap they carry the same shows we used to get on Sky only difference is the comercials are in Spanish.

To answer your question you'll get the most channels with Telefoncia or Canal + for free TV but limited channels pick up a TDT box about 50 euros form any electronics shop.

I should note the only thing you won't get here British shows. TV over here is 98% American with a few local shows thrown in for good measure, that's pretty much true anywhere. Why I don't know, but I've never seen a British show dubbed.
tim hortons man is offline  

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.