Reload this Page >

Dual Taxation Treaty

Dual Taxation Treaty

Old Oct 1st 2013, 2:09 pm
Just Joined

Cormac is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Dual Taxation Treaty

Hi everyone,

I have read some excellent posts on this site, but nothing that specifically answers my question, hence the post!

Does anyone know,

If I am tax resident in both Spain and the UK according to each countries definitions, do I have requirements to file tax returns in both countries?

I have spent more than 183 days this tax year in Spain, but according to the HMRC SRT I am also a uk resident for tax purposes. Under the second automatic uk test on the SRT, it determines me as UK resident for tax purposes.

If I can only be tax resident in one country, do I need to file a Spanish Tax return and fill in modelo 720 declaring all overseas assets? I have no property, bank account or anything else here except an NIE (not certificate of residency) and rental contract.

The following seems to be the relevant part of the DTT, but what is not clear is whether it means I only declare in the UK, or whether it is telling me I declare in both and offset what I earn in one against what I pay in the other (which I'm not sure is relevant to me anyway as I don't have any income that comes from Spain - no job, no bank accounts, no property).

This is my first year as tax resident in Spain, and I have income both from savings and ebook royalties that mostly sell in the US (95%).

http://www.hmrc.gov.uk/taxtreaties/s...k-protocol.pdf

Many thanks, anyone who can help (fred james that means you )

Article 4
RESIDENT
1. For the purposes of this Convention, the term “resident of a Contracting State”
means any person who, under the laws of that State, is liable to tax therein by reason of
his domicile, residence, place of management, place of incorporation or any other
criterion of a similar nature, and also includes that State and any political subdivision or