Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Europe > Spain
Reload this Page >

capital gains tax

capital gains tax

Old Mar 12th 2007, 2:32 pm
Just Joined

youngs is an unknown quantity at this point
Question capital gains tax

I am a UK resident selling a property in Spain.I spent Euros 20,000 fitting out the property .can I claim this expenditure (supported by receipts) against the profit when calculating Capital Gains Tax? I bought the house off plan and selling 2 years after completion.
Old Mar 12th 2007, 2:43 pm
Structural Surveyor

Hillybilly has a reputation beyond reputeHillybilly has a reputation beyond reputeHillybilly has a reputation beyond reputeHillybilly has a reputation beyond reputeHillybilly has a reputation beyond reputeHillybilly has a reputation beyond reputeHillybilly has a reputation beyond reputeHillybilly has a reputation beyond reputeHillybilly has a reputation beyond reputeHillybilly has a reputation beyond reputeHillybilly has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: capital gains tax

Yes, as long as the works were done with the relevant (if any) licence(s). You can also offset all "official" expenses including notario, lawyer and estate agency fees.
Old Mar 12th 2007, 2:53 pm
Just Joined

Question Re: capital gains tax

Thank you Hillybilly. the expenditure consists of installation of hot and cold aircon,grills against the windows ,curtains and curtain ploes and furniture. So not licence type expenditure. Do I provide my selling lawyer with the list or do I have to employ an accountant?
Old Mar 12th 2007, 3:03 pm
jdr
RETIRED ;-))

jdr has a reputation beyond reputejdr has a reputation beyond reputejdr has a reputation beyond reputejdr has a reputation beyond reputejdr has a reputation beyond reputejdr has a reputation beyond reputejdr has a reputation beyond reputejdr has a reputation beyond reputejdr has a reputation beyond reputejdr has a reputation beyond reputejdr has a reputation beyond repute

Originally Posted by youngs