Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Europe > Spain
Reload this Page >

Is buying in Spain profitable?

Is buying in Spain profitable?

Old Dec 28th 2022, 9:17 am
Just Joined

Bouldrd is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Is buying in Spain profitable?

Hi, I am considering moving to Spain in the next 10 years or so. With this in mind, I am looking to acquire my first property in the Canary Islands (Fuerteventura) with the intention to rent it out to holidaymakers purely as an investment. I understand that the amount of Spanish tax on rental income you pay as a non-resident is dependent on the country in which you are currently a fiscal resident and not your nationality. In my case, since I live in the UK, this rental activity will then be subject to a tax rate of 24% as I am a non-EU resident instead of 19% (even though I am a Belgian national). Also, expenses such as letting agency costs, electricity, IBI etc. are non-deductible.

I ran some calculations to estimate what kind of profit margin I could expect. Based on a rental property that generates an annual rental income of €17,459 and expenses of €9,834, the following tax will have to be paid in Spain:
  • Total rental income: €17,459
  • Non-deductible expenses: €9,834 (€2,793 (AirBnb) + €1,210 (Cleaning) + €154 (Insurance) + €3,491 (Letting agency) + €425 (Electricity) + €184 (Water) + €394 (Internet) + €150 (IBI) + €1,032 (Service charge))
  • Spanish tax due (24%): €4,190 (€17,459 * 0.24)
  • Yearly profit remaining: €3,434 (€17,459-€9,834-€4,190)
This leaves me with a monthly profit of €286 which surely isn’t worth the trouble — yet I hear many UK nationals still continue to invest in Spain even after Brexit… What am I missing?

I have two issues: the high tax rate and the non-deductible expenses from the Spanish tax that are driving this very low profit.