Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Europe > Spain
Reload this Page >

Broadband without telephone line

Broadband without telephone line

Old Jul 2nd 2011, 7:36 pm
  #31  
On the road again.
 
Dick Dasterdly's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2008
Location: On Top of the World
Posts: 17,507
Dick Dasterdly has a reputation beyond reputeDick Dasterdly has a reputation beyond reputeDick Dasterdly has a reputation beyond reputeDick Dasterdly has a reputation beyond reputeDick Dasterdly has a reputation beyond reputeDick Dasterdly has a reputation beyond reputeDick Dasterdly has a reputation beyond reputeDick Dasterdly has a reputation beyond reputeDick Dasterdly has a reputation beyond reputeDick Dasterdly has a reputation beyond reputeDick Dasterdly has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Broadband without telephone line

Originally Posted by jimenato
I wouldn't have thought that it's a normal TV aerial - you have to be able to transmit as well as receive for internet.
Sounds a strange one to me.

I have a small squarial type dish attached to the TV aerial mast, which picks up a terrestial transmission by line of sight from a similar dish about seven kms away.
I wonder if they meant you need a TV aerial so they can easily clamp their dish onto its supporting pole ?
Dick Dasterdly is offline  
Old Jul 2nd 2011, 11:38 pm
  #32  
BE Forum Addict
 
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,275
big wheels has a reputation beyond reputebig wheels has a reputation beyond reputebig wheels has a reputation beyond reputebig wheels has a reputation beyond reputebig wheels has a reputation beyond reputebig wheels has a reputation beyond reputebig wheels has a reputation beyond reputebig wheels has a reputation beyond reputebig wheels has a reputation beyond reputebig wheels has a reputation beyond reputebig wheels has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Broadband without telephone line

[QUOTE=Dick DasterdlyI wonder if they meant you need a TV aerial so they can easily clamp their dish onto its supporting pole ?[/QUOTE]

That is what this company does. In our case they fitted a small square receiver clamped to the tv aerial pole, together with another box containing what looked like a router.
big wheels is offline  
Old Jul 3rd 2011, 7:55 am
  #33  
Lost in BE Cyberspace
 
EsuriJohn's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2005
Location: Puente Esuri
Posts: 6,906
EsuriJohn has a reputation beyond reputeEsuriJohn has a reputation beyond reputeEsuriJohn has a reputation beyond reputeEsuriJohn has a reputation beyond reputeEsuriJohn has a reputation beyond reputeEsuriJohn has a reputation beyond reputeEsuriJohn has a reputation beyond reputeEsuriJohn has a reputation beyond reputeEsuriJohn has a reputation beyond reputeEsuriJohn has a reputation beyond reputeEsuriJohn has a reputation beyond repute
Smile Re: Broadband without telephone line

Originally Posted by big wheels
That is what this company does. In our case they fitted a small square receiver clamped to the tv aerial pole, together with another box containing what looked like a router.
We have the Iberabanda version of this "line of sight microwave radio transmission" we can see the transmitter and it is about 1.5km as the crow flies. We have friends who are a further away say 2.0km cannot see it and cannot get it!

We do not have a TV mast yet so they bolted a small "L" bracket to the chimney and mounted the squarial on that. It is not powered at the mast head but a Cat IV cable takes the decoded signal down to a small white powered box (and perhaps returns a small 12v power back up to the squarial). Three green LED's tell us all is OK and a Cat IV cable moves the signal on to small blue modem with 3 outlets. First is a phone socket which gives us a landline number (which is very attractive for us since we have no wired phone lines) next is a fax socket on the same number and finally the Cat IV outlet into the computor.

I have added a cable wireless router which gives me a signal throughout our site and gives access to the internet for computors, laptops and mobiles. The most we have had connected at one time is 4.

We have had no interruptions to service in 8 mths a constant 1 meg up and 1 meg down which is not super but excellent for Skype with video. Higher speeds are available at greater cost but we pay €41 inc IVA which includes BB, phone line and 300 "free" mins to UK and reasonable cost for calls within Spain.
EsuriJohn is offline  
Old Jul 3rd 2011, 8:31 am
  #34  
Lost in BE Cyberspace
 
Fredbargate's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Land of no recession
Posts: 10,719
Fredbargate has a reputation beyond reputeFredbargate has a reputation beyond reputeFredbargate has a reputation beyond reputeFredbargate has a reputation beyond reputeFredbargate has a reputation beyond reputeFredbargate has a reputation beyond reputeFredbargate has a reputation beyond reputeFredbargate has a reputation beyond reputeFredbargate has a reputation beyond reputeFredbargate has a reputation beyond reputeFredbargate has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Broadband without telephone line

This is WIMAX from Iberbanda

http://www.iberbanda.es/WiMAX-LMDS

Some aerial photos here

http://www.alibaba.com/showroom/wimax-antenna.html

Last edited by Fredbargate; Jul 3rd 2011 at 8:34 am.
Fredbargate is offline  
Old Jul 3rd 2011, 9:55 am
  #35  
BE Enthusiast
 
Joined: May 2009
Posts: 882
twistedmelon has a reputation beyond reputetwistedmelon has a reputation beyond reputetwistedmelon has a reputation beyond reputetwistedmelon has a reputation beyond reputetwistedmelon has a reputation beyond reputetwistedmelon has a reputation beyond reputetwistedmelon has a reputation beyond reputetwistedmelon has a reputation beyond reputetwistedmelon has a reputation beyond reputetwistedmelon has a reputation beyond reputetwistedmelon has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Broadband without telephone line

See what you've started jeanie 27
She did say she was a techno klutz........but then that would make some of us equal klutz for believing it
twistedmelon is offline  
Old Jul 3rd 2011, 10:27 am
  #36  
 
Joined: Jun 2011
Location: In the middle of 10million Olive Trees
Posts: 12,053
Domino has a reputation beyond reputeDomino has a reputation beyond reputeDomino has a reputation beyond reputeDomino has a reputation beyond reputeDomino has a reputation beyond reputeDomino has a reputation beyond reputeDomino has a reputation beyond reputeDomino has a reputation beyond reputeDomino has a reputation beyond reputeDomino has a reputation beyond reputeDomino has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Broadband without telephone line

Originally Posted by John & Kath
We have the Iberabanda version of this "line of sight microwave radio transmission" we can see the transmitter and it is about 1.5km as the crow flies. We have friends who are a further away say 2.0km cannot see it and cannot get it!
We do not have a TV mast yet so they bolted a small "L" bracket to the chimney and mounted the squarial on that. It is not powered at the mast head but a Cat IV cable takes the decoded signal down to a small white powered box (and perhaps returns a small 12v power back up to the squarial). Three green LED's tell us all is OK and a Cat IV cable moves the signal on to small blue modem with 3 outlets. First is a phone socket which gives us a landline number (which is very attractive for us since we have no wired phone lines) next is a fax socket on the same number and finally the Cat IV outlet into the computor.

I have added a cable wireless router which gives me a signal throughout our site and gives access to the internet for computors, laptops and mobiles. The most we have had connected at one time is 4.

We have had no interruptions to service in 8 mths a constant 1 meg up and 1 meg down which is not super but excellent for Skype with video. Higher speeds are available at greater cost but we pay €41 inc IVA which includes BB, phone line and 300 "free" mins to UK and reasonable cost for calls within Spain.

The thing that must be remembered is that if you don't have that all important line of site you don't have a system because your system isn't able to carry out the "handshakes" to log on even if the suppliers mast is radiating and receiving 360degs. Many years ago the RN found this to be a problem with satellite communication when manuevering, comms were lost because the mast got in the way which they called "wooding".

That sounds like a good system you have brought together. More importantly it works for you.
Domino is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.