Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Europe > Spain
Reload this Page >

Advice for living in Spain in the future.

Advice for living in Spain in the future.

Old Sep 5th 2011, 2:12 pm
Just Joined

Sorani is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Advice for living in Spain in the future.

Hello, I'm looking for advice about potentially moving to Spain, because I have always wanted to since I first started visiting, after my degree (2012, at least) if anyone is able to give it.

To preface: I'm 24, my degree is BA Spanish with history, history being a minor, and I also have a TEFL certificate but I have been told that's nothing fantastically unique. I would like to teach English in Spain in the future, and have been getting some experience via my degree. I spent the last three months in Albacete, volunteering in a primary school, and will spend 8 months from October as a teaching assistant in a secondary school in Águilas, Murcia, as well as hopefully staying through the summer and finding some temp work in maybe a summer camp or classes.

So, what I will have is the ability to speak Spanish well, teaching experience and I am getting together references and connections through teachers who can help me find things in the future. Problem is, I know the economy has been struggling horribly, and I know spending cuts are coming and that'll hit teachers, so how realistic am I being to think I can succeed? Albacete was potentially a place I was thinking of living, as I really like the area, but that may change in the next two years, I know.

Thanks!
Old Sep 5th 2011, 2:33 pm
Lost in BE Cyberspace