British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   Spain (https://britishexpats.com/forum/spain-75/)
-   -   25 Year old moving to Spain advice (https://britishexpats.com/forum/spain-75/25-year-old-moving-spain-advice-941886/)

TomGardner21 Dec 9th 2021 12:22 pm

25 Year old moving to Spain advice

Hi all,

This last year has made me realise I've had enough of my surroundings and have started to try and plan my dream of moving to Spain. I'm looking at moving to Valencia because of the affordable accommodation and location in Spain.

Regarding my personal situation - I'm 25 years old with no degree. I've been working in Customer Service since I was 18.

I've been studying Spanish for about 2 months now, with a private tutor. I'm studying hourly, daily. I'll be looking to move over in Autumn 2022, which will make it a year of learning from when I started. I don't expect to be anywhere near fluent, but just want to get a grasp of the basics before going over, so I can converse with locals and eventually find a basic job.

I intend on taking some time off work and exploring Spain before getting a job. I know there's an initial 3 month period where I can stay without a visa and I intend on using this time to travel around the country. I have savings to do this and will continue to save over the next 10 months.