Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > New Zealand
Reload this Page >

Electrician - Any suggestions on the best places to look for work?

Electrician - Any suggestions on the best places to look for work?

Old Oct 31st 2012, 6:09 pm
Forum Regular

simonmoon99 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Electrician - Any suggestions on the best places to look for work?

Hey everyone,

Just a quick one to put a 'feeler' out there, Ive just received my limited license and applying for full registration soon. I was just wondering if any of you guys knew of any 'decent electrical outfits out there in the Christchurch area that I could apply for or if any of you fine gentlemen/ladies have any electrical positions available yourselves (domestic, commercial) as currently I work for a building company as I am an experienced builder also but want to turn my attention back to the sparky side of things while I get my head around the 'interesting' kiwi wiring

Like I said, just testing the water
Old Nov 5th 2012, 3:08 pm
Just Joined

dannyc2thab is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Electrician - Any suggestions on the best places to look for work?

Hi mate,

I'm in the process of completing my sparky NVQ3 in the UK & have a few other quals/quite a bit of experience as well, im poss looking to come over to NZ with my oh within the next yr & was wondering if the process is more or less the same as OZ for skills assessments & obtaining licences in order to get the NZ visa??
Old Nov 5th 2012, 4:38 pm
Forum Regular

How old are you mate, generally its alot easier I have found
Old Nov 5th 2012, 5:01 pm
Just Joined

Hi Mate,

Im 33 & have spent time in Ruapehu in the North Island & a few months in the South spread over most places about a yr ago. Dying to get back tho & if poss help out with rebuilding in Christchurch as been told there's obviously a ton of work there.
Old Nov 5th 2012, 5:07 pm
Forum Regular