Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Canada
Reload this Page >

Does anybody work in the Oil/Sands (info req)?

Does anybody work in the Oil/Sands (info req)?

Old Jan 26th 2008, 10:35 pm
Forum Regular

Ron in Aus is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Does anybody work in the Oil/Sands (info req)?

Hi.

I am from the UK, where I worked on the rail infrastructure. I am now in Adelaide, working on the rail renewals project as a Technical Advisor.

I am also studying GPS/GIS Surveying and Civil Engineering (Drafting, Site Surveying) at Technician level (2 years left till I complete).

We want to move to Canada in about two years time and as the skills that I am learning can be used in the Oil/Gas Sands.
I was wondering if anybody on this forum worked in this industry.

We have the usual questions (already been through this once with the move to Australia), wages in comparison to standard of living, areas to live in, employers to approach etc.

Any info would be appreciated and thanks in advance.

Ronnie.
Old Jan 26th 2008, 10:49 pm
Now on Vancouver Island

Judy in Calgary has a reputation beyond reputeJudy in Calgary has a reputation beyond reputeJudy in Calgary has a reputation beyond reputeJudy in Calgary has a reputation beyond reputeJudy in Calgary has a reputation beyond reputeJudy in Calgary has a reputation beyond reputeJudy in Calgary has a reputation beyond reputeJudy in Calgary has a reputation beyond reputeJudy in Calgary has a reputation beyond reputeJudy in Calgary has a reputation beyond reputeJudy in Calgary has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Does anybody work in the Oil/Sands (info req)?

Two words.

Fort McMurray.

Do a search here for McMurray, as this will bring up previous posts about Fort McMurray as well as those about Ft McMurray and Ft. McMurray.