Gothenburg, Sweden

Old May 1st 2011, 2:41 am
Just Joined

laurasblease is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Gothenburg, Sweden

Hello! My name is Laura,

I am 23 years old and currently living in Manchester, UK. I am a student nurse in my second year of a three year course. My boyfriend lives in Gothenburg, Sweden. I met him here in Manchester and we travel back and forth to see each other. When I qualify in August 2012, I'd like to move to Gothenburg so me and the O/H can begin our lives, so really I'd like to speak to anybody that has moved there from the UK, or maybe any English nurses working there? I'm obviously very worried about finding a job! I am learning Swedish, but at a slow rate since I've got so much work with uni.

I heard about a free course to learn Swedish with my government? Does anybody know how I can access this?

Any help would be brill!

Thanks guys,

Laura xxx
Old May 4th 2011, 7:59 am
Just Joined

johnpaulrack is just really nicejohnpaulrack is just really nicejohnpaulrack is just really nicejohnpaulrack is just really nicejohnpaulrack is just really nicejohnpaulrack is just really nicejohnpaulrack is just really nicejohnpaulrack is just really nice
Default Re: Gothenburg, Sweden

Hi Laura
I'm in Lund where - like most of Sweden - you can get by very well with English. I took a course here last summer with the Folkuniversitet and I know that there are lots of courses here by 'SFI' which you can access pretty easily once you have arrived.
The fact that so many Swedes speak good English is a mixed blessing because it takes away some of the motivation to learn but I can see you'll need it for your kind of work. Have you checked that your professional qualifications will carry weight over here?
Good Luck with it all -it's a great country and Gothenburg is a great city.
Old Jun 2nd 2011, 9:29 pm
Forum Regular