British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   The Sand Pit (https://britishexpats.com/forum/sand-pit-116/)
-   -   Where to buy a set of golf clubs? (https://britishexpats.com/forum/sand-pit-116/where-buy-set-golf-clubs-786024/)

OriginalSunshine Feb 2nd 2013 3:04 pm

Where to buy a set of golf clubs?

I've just started learning golf, and I'd like recommendations for places to buy a set - also any thoughts on brand, what clubs to get etc welcome.
Obv as a beginner I don't need a professional set, but neither do I want a cheap set that's heavy and will fall apart after a year or two.
If it helps, I'm a lightweight, and I found borrowing the club's set with graphite cores really nice, but I'm guessing those are super expensive?!

scrubbedexpat141 Feb 2nd 2013 3:15 pm

Re: Where to buy a set of golf clubs?

Originally Posted by OriginalSunshine (Post 10520928)
I've just started learning golf, and I'd like recommendations for places to buy a set - also any thoughts on brand, what clubs to get etc welcome.
Obv as a beginner I don't need a professional set, but neither do I want a cheap set that's heavy and will fall apart after a year or two.
If it helps, I'm a lightweight, and I found borrowing the club's set with graphite cores really nice, but I'm guessing those are super expensive?!

Golf club. Any out here, get a pro to help you a the club and see if you can try first?

Don't limit yourself too much. I got bought a half set of irons and sometimes not having a 4 or 5 is a bit frustrating.

OriginalSunshine Feb 2nd 2013 3:39 pm

Ah -ok, but I don't live in the UAE, but will be visiting for shopping in a few weeks time.

So golf clubs are better than shops for buying a set?

scrubbedexpat141 Feb 2nd 2013 5:01 pm

Originally Posted by OriginalSunshine (Post 10520962)
Ah -ok, but I don't live in the UAE, but will be visiting for shopping in a few weeks time.

So golf clubs are better than shops for buying a set?