Skype

Old Dec 17th 2012, 9:23 am
  #1  
Just Joined
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Oct 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 11
Jochram is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Skype

Soon I will be a brand new Ex-pat arriving in the UAE in January. As I will be leaving family and friends at home I will need a good means of communication with the folks back home, Skype being the obvious choice. Before I get shot down in flames (I have read through previous threads on this topic) I would really appreciate some direct advice on the subject. Please could someone who is currently successfully using Skype in the UAE, PM me so that I can ask some direct questions? As I am still a newbie on here, I have a few more posts to send before I am permitted to PM myself.
Jochram is offline  
Old Dec 17th 2012, 9:24 am
  #2  
BE Enthusiast
 
Joined: Jun 2010
Location: Dubai
Posts: 585
Mogs is a name known to allMogs is a name known to allMogs is a name known to allMogs is a name known to allMogs is a name known to allMogs is a name known to allMogs is a name known to allMogs is a name known to allMogs is a name known to allMogs is a name known to allMogs is a name known to all
Default Re: Skype

Originally Posted by Jochram View Post
Soon I will be a brand new Ex-pat arriving in the UAE in January. As I will be leaving family and friends at home I will need a good means of communication with the folks back home, Skype being the obvious choice. Before I get shot down in flames (I have read through previous threads on this topic) I would really appreciate some direct advice on the subject. Please could someone who is currently successfully using Skype in the UAE, PM me so that I can ask some direct questions? As I am still a newbie on here, I have a few more posts to send before I am permitted to PM myself.
Download it to your phone/computer from the UK before you leave. It works fine if already installed.

You just can't download it once you're here.
Mogs is offline  
Old Dec 17th 2012, 9:24 am
  #3  
Bored liberal
 
Meow's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Over there ----->
Posts: 13,704
Meow has a reputation beyond reputeMeow has a reputation beyond reputeMeow has a reputation beyond reputeMeow has a reputation beyond reputeMeow has a reputation beyond reputeMeow has a reputation beyond reputeMeow has a reputation beyond reputeMeow has a reputation beyond reputeMeow has a reputation beyond reputeMeow has a reputation beyond reputeMeow has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Skype

What do you need to know apart from that it works, but you need to have downloaded it before you get here?
Meow is offline  
Old Dec 17th 2012, 9:28 am
  #4  
Just Joined
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Oct 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 11
Jochram is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Skype

I was under the impression that I needed VPN?
Jochram is offline  
Old Dec 17th 2012, 9:29 am
  #5  
BE Enthusiast
 
Joined: Jun 2010
Location: Dubai
Posts: 585
Mogs is a name known to allMogs is a name known to allMogs is a name known to allMogs is a name known to allMogs is a name known to allMogs is a name known to allMogs is a name known to allMogs is a name known to allMogs is a name known to allMogs is a name known to allMogs is a name known to all
Default Re: Skype

Originally Posted by Jochram View Post
I was under the impression that I needed VPN?
not for skype
Mogs is offline  
Old Dec 17th 2012, 9:30 am
  #6  
Just Joined
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Oct 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 11
Jochram is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Skype

That is good news, but I would need it for Brit tv etc.?
Jochram is offline  
Old Dec 17th 2012, 9:30 am
  #7  
BE Enthusiast
 
Joined: Jun 2010
Location: Dubai
Posts: 585
Mogs is a name known to allMogs is a name known to allMogs is a name known to allMogs is a name known to allMogs is a name known to allMogs is a name known to allMogs is a name known to allMogs is a name known to allMogs is a name known to allMogs is a name known to allMogs is a name known to all
Default Re: Skype

Originally Posted by Jochram View Post
That is good news, but I would need it for Brit tv etc.?
yes
Mogs is offline  
Old Dec 17th 2012, 9:30 am
  #8  
Bored liberal
 
Meow's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Over there ----->
Posts: 13,704
Meow has a reputation beyond reputeMeow has a reputation beyond reputeMeow has a reputation beyond reputeMeow has a reputation beyond reputeMeow has a reputation beyond reputeMeow has a reputation beyond reputeMeow has a reputation beyond reputeMeow has a reputation beyond reputeMeow has a reputation beyond reputeMeow has a reputation beyond reputeMeow has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Skype

Originally Posted by Jochram View Post
That is good news, but I would need it for Brit tv etc.?
Usually, so you'd be wise to set that up to. Not complicated and can be done from here anyway,
Meow is offline  
Old Dec 17th 2012, 9:33 am
  #9  
Just Joined
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Oct 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 11
Jochram is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Skype

Thanks guys, you have been a great help
Jochram is offline  
Old Dec 17th 2012, 9:40 am
  #10  
Loading...
 
Welivehere's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: Back in the sand
Posts: 1,279
Welivehere has a reputation beyond reputeWelivehere has a reputation beyond reputeWelivehere has a reputation beyond reputeWelivehere has a reputation beyond reputeWelivehere has a reputation beyond reputeWelivehere has a reputation beyond reputeWelivehere has a reputation beyond reputeWelivehere has a reputation beyond reputeWelivehere has a reputation beyond reputeWelivehere has a reputation beyond reputeWelivehere has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Skype

Jochram,

Were one to consider using Skype for any of the sevices that cost (ie calls to landline or mobiles) ensuring auto payment / auto top up is configured prior to departure would be a wise idea....
Welivehere is offline  
Old Dec 17th 2012, 9:56 am
  #11  
Just Joined
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Oct 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 11
Jochram is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Skype

Good advice Welivehere, thank you!
Jochram is offline  
Old Dec 17th 2012, 3:33 pm
  #12  
"Insert witty title here"
 
Irishbeekeeper's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2012
Location: dxb
Posts: 2,222
Irishbeekeeper has a reputation beyond reputeIrishbeekeeper has a reputation beyond reputeIrishbeekeeper has a reputation beyond reputeIrishbeekeeper has a reputation beyond reputeIrishbeekeeper has a reputation beyond reputeIrishbeekeeper has a reputation beyond reputeIrishbeekeeper has a reputation beyond reputeIrishbeekeeper has a reputation beyond reputeIrishbeekeeper has a reputation beyond reputeIrishbeekeeper has a reputation beyond reputeIrishbeekeeper has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Skype

all above advice reiterated, just one more addition from me
I have a Du USB dongle for my office use which is pretty fast (8mbps with a 10GB limit) and i can have multiple calls on google talk on it but for some reason skype chat only works on it, skype voice does not. have tried everything down to changing computers as well
same laptop when goes home to Etisalat, works great on skype
so just telling you what I learned in the past few months here
Irishbeekeeper is offline  
Old Dec 17th 2012, 3:44 pm
  #13  
Millhouse is not a meme
 
Millhouse's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Disneyland, Dubai
Posts: 14,624
Millhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond reputeMillhouse has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Skype

Originally Posted by Mogs View Post
not for skype
not quite true, well in my experience anyway. On both Du and Etisalat, I have experienced:

Skypeout/ Skypein - you need a VPN
Skype PC-PC - you don't need it.

Personally, I find facetime more effective.

Set up skype and the VPN in the UK first.
Millhouse is offline  
Old Dec 17th 2012, 3:54 pm
  #14  
Just Joined
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Oct 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 11
Jochram is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Skype

Hi all, thanks again for your advice, much appreciated. If anyone has a recommended VPN please can you let me know via private message.
Jochram is offline  
Old Dec 17th 2012, 8:46 pm
  #15  
Banned
 
Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 96
bahrain saudi is just really nicebahrain saudi is just really nicebahrain saudi is just really nicebahrain saudi is just really nicebahrain saudi is just really nicebahrain saudi is just really nicebahrain saudi is just really nicebahrain saudi is just really nice
Default Re: Skype

You cant use skype in Dubai.

Need a VPN / Proxy
bahrain saudi is offline  

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.