IT Question

Old Dec 13th 2012, 7:55 am
  #1  
Shark Fisherman
Thread Starter
 
britexpat76's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2012
Location: Doha
Posts: 4,568
britexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond repute
Default IT Question

Everytime i open google chrome now I get a different home page, This one below:-

http://home.sweetim.com/?crg=3.1010000.10011&barid={EBBD3D51-448E-11E2-9DD5-047D7B3BF68F}

I have not downloaded anything and its not in any programs to uninstall. How do I get rid of the damn thing, its also in Arabic

To Add - If I open a new page it opens this sweetim nonsense and if I do a search it searches via this........
britexpat76 is offline  
Old Dec 13th 2012, 8:04 am
  #2  
BE Enthusiast
 
Joined: Jun 2010
Location: Dubai
Posts: 585
Mogs is a name known to allMogs is a name known to allMogs is a name known to allMogs is a name known to allMogs is a name known to allMogs is a name known to allMogs is a name known to allMogs is a name known to allMogs is a name known to allMogs is a name known to allMogs is a name known to all
Default Re: IT Question

Originally Posted by britexpat76 View Post
Everytime i open google chrome now I get a different home page, This one below:-

http://home.sweetim.com/?crg=3.1010000.10011&barid={EBBD3D51-448E-11E2-9DD5-047D7B3BF68F}

I have not downloaded anything and its not in any programs to uninstall. How do I get rid of the damn thing, its also in Arabic

To Add - If I open a new page it opens this sweetim nonsense and if I do a search it searches via this........
You need to go into settings (the horizontal black lines at the right of the search bar. Near the top you can enter a webpage to open on start-up
Mogs is offline  
Old Dec 13th 2012, 8:12 am
  #3  
Shark Fisherman
Thread Starter
 
britexpat76's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2012
Location: Doha
Posts: 4,568
britexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: IT Question

Originally Posted by Mogs View Post
You need to go into settings (the horizontal black lines at the right of the search bar. Near the top you can enter a webpage to open on start-up
Star man. Thank you.
britexpat76 is offline  
Old Dec 13th 2012, 8:13 am
  #4  
...---...
 
Fossildog's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2012
Posts: 484
Fossildog has a reputation beyond reputeFossildog has a reputation beyond reputeFossildog has a reputation beyond reputeFossildog has a reputation beyond reputeFossildog has a reputation beyond reputeFossildog has a reputation beyond reputeFossildog has a reputation beyond reputeFossildog has a reputation beyond reputeFossildog has a reputation beyond reputeFossildog has a reputation beyond reputeFossildog has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: IT Question

Sounds like malware. Check what is being loaded on startup, check also for any unusual processes in task manager. These things can be a nightmare to get rid of.
Fossildog is offline  
Old Dec 13th 2012, 8:21 am
  #5  
Shark Fisherman
Thread Starter
 
britexpat76's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2012
Location: Doha
Posts: 4,568
britexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: IT Question

It looks that way.............Its back already and I now have a shitty task bar on the bottom of the page I cant remove ..............

I was going round a load of sites last night looking for a live feed for ESPN but I didnt download anything
britexpat76 is offline  
Old Dec 13th 2012, 8:28 am
  #6  
Kix
Nothing doin' here
 
Kix's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Posts: 3,508
Kix will become famous soon enoughKix will become famous soon enough
Default Re: IT Question

Originally Posted by britexpat76 View Post
It looks that way.............Its back already and I now have a shitty task bar on the bottom of the page I cant remove ..............

I was going round a load of sites last night looking for a live feed for ESPN but I didnt download anything
You don't need to search, just use these guys

http://www.thefirstrow.eu/
Kix is offline  
Old Dec 13th 2012, 9:07 am
  #7  
BE Enthusiast
 
Cypselos's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 542
Cypselos is a splendid one to beholdCypselos is a splendid one to beholdCypselos is a splendid one to beholdCypselos is a splendid one to beholdCypselos is a splendid one to beholdCypselos is a splendid one to beholdCypselos is a splendid one to beholdCypselos is a splendid one to beholdCypselos is a splendid one to beholdCypselos is a splendid one to beholdCypselos is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: IT Question

These should get rid of it for you

http://forums.spybot.info/showthread.php?t=58124

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rOED...ture=endscreen

the youtube probably more useful...

Last edited by Cypselos; Dec 13th 2012 at 9:13 am.
Cypselos is offline  
Old Dec 13th 2012, 9:18 am
  #8  
"Insert witty title here"
 
Irishbeekeeper's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2012
Location: dxb
Posts: 2,224
Irishbeekeeper has a reputation beyond reputeIrishbeekeeper has a reputation beyond reputeIrishbeekeeper has a reputation beyond reputeIrishbeekeeper has a reputation beyond reputeIrishbeekeeper has a reputation beyond reputeIrishbeekeeper has a reputation beyond reputeIrishbeekeeper has a reputation beyond reputeIrishbeekeeper has a reputation beyond reputeIrishbeekeeper has a reputation beyond reputeIrishbeekeeper has a reputation beyond reputeIrishbeekeeper has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: IT Question

Originally Posted by britexpat76 View Post
It looks that way.............Its back already and I now have a shitty task bar on the bottom of the page I cant remove ..............

I was going round a load of sites last night looking for a live feed for ESPN but I didnt download anything
nowadays you dont need to download anything and still get malware
need to have a decent av / internet security running for that
i am a staunch kaspersky supporter, try using that for future references

for now u need to find a decent malware remover, try spyware doctor or comodo cleaner

if u can do this :
click on start, in the search bar type msconfig
click on the startup tab and try and uncheck any programs that you think are not part of your general use, malwares usually tend to have no names or something like %hwjh%
then restart the system, a window will appear saying something to the effect of 'the system settings were changed blah blah blah', there will be only 1 option under it saying check this / dont show this again etc

see if that works
pm if u need more info
hope this helps

'please do not play around with anything else in there, you might end up with a far worse problem than when you started!!!!!'
Irishbeekeeper is offline  
Old Dec 13th 2012, 9:27 am
  #9  
"Insert witty title here"
 
Irishbeekeeper's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2012
Location: dxb
Posts: 2,224
Irishbeekeeper has a reputation beyond reputeIrishbeekeeper has a reputation beyond reputeIrishbeekeeper has a reputation beyond reputeIrishbeekeeper has a reputation beyond reputeIrishbeekeeper has a reputation beyond reputeIrishbeekeeper has a reputation beyond reputeIrishbeekeeper has a reputation beyond reputeIrishbeekeeper has a reputation beyond reputeIrishbeekeeper has a reputation beyond reputeIrishbeekeeper has a reputation beyond reputeIrishbeekeeper has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: IT Question

Originally Posted by Irishbeekeeper View Post

'please do not play around with anything else in there, you might end up with a far worse problem than when you started!!!!!'
if i had a quid for everytime my wife told ME that
Irishbeekeeper is offline  
Old Dec 13th 2012, 9:31 am
  #10  
Account Closed
 
Joined: Mar 2012
Location: Dubai, working at Dust World Central
Posts: 3,706
mikewot has a reputation beyond reputemikewot has a reputation beyond reputemikewot has a reputation beyond reputemikewot has a reputation beyond reputemikewot has a reputation beyond reputemikewot has a reputation beyond reputemikewot has a reputation beyond reputemikewot has a reputation beyond reputemikewot has a reputation beyond reputemikewot has a reputation beyond reputemikewot has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: IT Question

http://www.safer-networking.org/2012...-for-download/

http://www.lavasoft.com/

http://www.zonealarm.com/

http://free.avg.com/us-en/free-antivirus-download

I'm a sweatie so these are all free and they're very good.
mikewot is offline  
Old Dec 13th 2012, 9:32 am
  #11  
Shark Fisherman
Thread Starter
 
britexpat76's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2012
Location: Doha
Posts: 4,568
britexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond reputebritexpat76 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: IT Question

I found them! They were hiding in advanced settings, background apps. All deleted and running tickety Boo!

Thanks for the help
britexpat76 is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.